











PUBLIC SERVICE MEDIA AND DEMOCRACY

Conference

hosted by the Chamber of Deputies of the Parliament of the Czech Republic

Poslanecka Snemovna Sněmovni 1 Praha 1

10 & 11 November 2016, Prague

PROGRAMME

Thursday 10 November 2016

09:00-09:30 Welcome addresses

Mr Jan Hamáček, Speaker of the Chamber of Deputies of the Czech Parliament Mr Jean-Paul Philippot, President of the EBU Ms Gülsün Bilgehan, Chairperson of the Sub-Committee on Media and Information

Society of the Parliamentary Assembly of the Council of Europe (PACE)

Keynote addresses by video messages

Mr Martin Schulz, President of the European Parliament Mr Thorbjørn Jagland, Secretary General of the Council of Europe

09:30-10:00 Coffee break

Panel 1

10:00-12:00 Role and responsibility of parliaments for freedom of expression and media freedom

Chair: Mr Jan Kleijssen, Director of Information Society and Action against Crime, Council of Europe

Panellists:

Ms Dunja Mijatović, OSCE Representative on Freedom of the Media Mr Stefan Schennach, Member of the Committee on Culture, Science, Education and Media of the Parliamentary Assembly of the Council of Europe Dr Tarlach McGonagle, Institute for Information Law, Amsterdam, Council of Europe expert

Moderator: Mr Boris Bergant, EBU expert

Rapporteur: Dr Gvozden Flego, University of Zagreb

Discussion

Panel 2

12:00-14:00 Modern public service media and its impact on society and democracy

Chair: Mr Jean-Paul Philippot, President of the EBU

Panellists:

Mr Petr Dvorak, Director General of Czech TV

Mr Alexandr Pícha, Director New Media of Czech Radio

Ms Elfa Ýr Gylfadottir, Chairperson of the Council of Europe Steering Committee on Media and Information Society (CDMSI)

Dr Klaus Unterberger, Public service broadcaster of Austria ORF

Moderator: Mr Boris Bergant, EBU expert

Rapporteur: Dr Juan Barata Mir, Council of Europe expert

Discussion

14:00-15:30 Lunch break

Panel 3

15:30-17:30 Public service media governance: ensuring institutional and editorial independence

Chair: Ms Elfa Yr Gylfadottir, Chairperson of the CDMSI

Panellists:

Mr Jean-François Furnémont, Council of Europe expert
Dr Michael Wagner, Head of Media and Communications Law, EBU
Ms Irina Radu, President of the public service broadcaster of Romania TVR
Mr Mogens Blicher Bjerregard, President of the European Federation of
Journalists

Moderator: Mr Boris Bergant, EBU expert

Rapporteur: Mr Giacomo Mazzone, Head of Institutional Relations and Member

Relations - South, EBU

Discussion

17:30-17:45 Coffee break

Friday 11 November 2016

Panel 4

09:00-11:00 Hate speech: responsibilities of parliaments, regulators and public service media and the case law of the European Court of Human Rights

Chair: Ms Gülsün Bilgehan, Chairperson of the PACE Sub-Committee on Media and Information Society

Panellists:

Dr Mirjana Lazarova-Trajkovska, Judge, European Court of Human Rights Dr Herdis Kjerulf Thorgeirsdottir, Vice-President of the Venice Commission of the Council of Europe

Ms Mirjana Rakić, Agency for Electronic Media of the Republic of Croatia Ms Helena Mandić, Director of Broadcasting of the Communications Regulatory Agency of Bosnia and Herzegovina

Mr Boris Navasardian, President of the Yerevan Press Club

Moderator: Mr Boris Bergant, EBU expert

Rapporteur: Mr Jean-François Furnémont, Council of Europe expert

Discussion

11:00-11:15 Coffee break

Panel 5

11:15-13:00 Sustainability of public service media – the way ahead

Chair: Ms Ingrid Deltenre, Director-General of the EBU

Panellists:

Dr Roberto Suarez Candel, Head of the Media Intelligence Service, EBU Mr Vaclav Mika, Director-General of the Slovak public service broadcaster RTVS Ms Celene Craig, Chairperson of European Platform of Regulatory Authorities (EPRA)

Moderator: Mr Boris Bergant, EBU expert

Rapporteur: Ms Radka Betcheva, Joint Head of Member Relations and Senior

Manager of Partnership Programme, EBU

Discussion

13:00-14:00 Lunch break

Panel 6

14:00-15:00 Conclusions and recommendations

Chairs: Ms Ingrid Deltenre, Director-General of the EBU and Mr Patrick Penninckx, Head of Information Society Department, Council of Europe

Dr Gvozden Flego, University of Zagreb, Council of Europe expert Dr Juan Barata Mir, Council of Europe expert

Ms Radka Betcheva, Joint Head of Member Relations and Senior Manager of Partnership Programme, EBU

Mr Jean-François Furnémont, Council of Europe expert

Mr Giacomo Mazzone, Head of Institutional Relations and Member Relations - South, EBU

Discussion

15:00-15:30 Closing session

Ms Ingrid Deltenre, Director General of the EBU and Mr Patrick Penninckx, Head of Information Society Department, Council of Europe

Languages English, Czech

Live streaming of the conference: http://www.ebu.ch/live-streaming

Contact Persons

Ms Lejla Dervisagic, Council of Europe, DG I: Lejla.DERVISAGIC@coe.int

Mr Rüdiger Dossow, Council of Europe Parliamentary Assembly: rudiger.dossow@coe.int

Ms Radka Betcheva, EBU: betcheva@ebu.ch Mr Giacomo Mazzone, EBU: mazzone@ebu.ch