Home Events The Eurovision Debate
Group meetings

The Eurovision Debate

The Eurovision Debate will be broadcast in 24 languages via TV, radio and websites throughout the continent.

Eurovision will make broadcasting history on 15 May by producing and delivering the first ever live televised debate between candidates to be the next President of the European Commission.

The Eurovision Debate will take place in front of a live studio audience in the European Parliament plenary chamber, in Brussels, under a strict set of rules that reflect the PSM Values and Editorial Principles adopted by the European Broadcasting Union membership.

The format

15 May: A 90-minute, live TV debate between the contenders to be the next president of the EU commission.

Language update: The Eurovision Debate will be broadcast in 24 languages via TV, radio and websites throughout the continent. Ska Keller, Martin Schulz and Guy Verhofstadt will debate in English, while Alexis Tsipras will speak in Greek, and Jean-Claude Juncker will participate in French.

The presenter

Veteran Italian journalist, war correspondent, TV anchor, author, filmmaker and broadcasting executive, Monica Maggioni.

Participation criteria

In order to be invited to participate in the Eurovision Debate, candidates to the European Commission presidency must fulfill the following cumulative criteria:

  1. The candidate must be nominated by one of the 13 political parties represented in the European Parliament and
  2. The political party making the nomination must be represented in one of the seven officially recognized Political Groups1 in the outgoing European Parliament and
  3. Only one presidential candidate per Political Group will be allowed to participate in the Eurovision Debate and;
  4. Only presidential candidates nominated before 15th March 2014 are eligible.


1In order to be officially recognized, Groups must have 25 Members of Parliament who represent at least one-quarter of the EU Member States. Members of Parliament may not belong to more than one political group.

The European Parliament currently recognizes seven Groups

i.              Group of the European People's Party (Christian Democrats);

ii.             Group of the Progressive Alliance of Socialists and Democrats in the European Parliament;

iii.            Group of the Alliance of Liberals and Democrats for Europe;

iv.            Group of the Greens/European Free Alliance;

v.             European Conservatives and Reformists Group;

vi.            Confederal Group of the European United Left - Nordic Green Left;

vii.           Europe of Freedom and Democracy Group. 

More information about the Eurovision Debate rules: http://www.eurovisiondebate.tv/rules/ 

Official website:




European Parliament, Brussels

Event contact

Mike Mullane
Project Manager & Editorial Spokesman
Media strategy unit
+41 22 717 26 03

Ben Steward
Communications Officer
EBU Communications

+41 22 717 22 13

Additional Event Details

EBU Members who have comfirmed their participation:
More info on broadcasters

Join the debates and share your opinions about European issues on:

Facebook_icon.jpgtwitter_icon.jpg google+_icon.jpg

Official website: