Accueil Événements Eurovision Young Musicians 2014
Réunions de communautés

Eurovision Young Musicians 2014

The 17th Eurovision Young Musicians will be held in Cologne, Germany on 31 May 2014. The contest has run biennially since 1982. It is an international classical music event aimed at offering the widest possible stage to talented young classical musicians and help them embark on an international career.

The 17th edition of this biennial show will be broadcast live from the Roncalliplatz in Cologne, Germany on the 31st May 2014.

The event is a co-production between Eurovision and German public broadcaster WDR and aims to give a platform to talented young classical musicians in order to help them embark on an international career.

A total of 14 countries will take part in this year's competition. The participating countries are:
• Austria (ORF)
• Croatia (HRT)
• Czech Rep (CT)
• Germany (WDR)
• Greece (HPRT)
• Hungary (MTVA)
• Malta (PBS)
• Moldova (TRM)
• The Netherlands (NTR)
• Norway (NRK)
• Poland (TVP)
• Portugal (RTP)
• Slovenia (RTVSLO)
• Sweden (SVT)

This year a number of major changes have been made to the format of Eurovision Young Musicians.

For the first time ALL participants will appear in the Final after being judged in a pre-round earlier in the week. Contestants will also perform together a piece of music written especially for the competition. 

In the Final each contestant will perform a piece not longer than 5 minutes accompanied by a full orchestra.

Hungary returns to the competition for the first time since 2000. Sweden last took part in 2010, whilst Portugal has not entered since their debut in 1994. Malta and Moldova are welcomed to the Young Musicians family in 2014. 

Three prizes will be awarded at the end of the competition with the winner being given the opportunity to perform with the Vienna Philharmonic Orchestra in 2015.



Roncalliplatz, Cologne, Germany

Event contact

Vladislav Yakovlev
Project Manager
T +41 22 717 2426

Dave Goodman 
Media Liaison
T +41 22 717 2658

Additional Event Details

Live broadcast on the 31st May 2014, 20:00 CET

Official Eurovision Young Musicians 2014 website: 


A co-production bewtween Eurovision and German public broadcaster