COMMITTEEDepartment / Unit Technology & Innovation

Technical Committee


The Technical Committee is elected during the Technical Assembly. It oversees the work of the Strategic Programmes headquartered at the EBU Technology & Innovation department.

Our Technical Committee is responsible for managing the EBU’s technical activities. The TC oversees the development of the biennial workplan and approves the creation of Strategic Programmes (also appointing their Chairs and Vice-chairs). It also approves all recommendations, positions and policies developed by the Technology & Innovation team for publication and external distribution.

Members of the Technical Committee (13 in total) are appointed by the Technical Assembly and serve a two-year term. The current Technical Committee was appointed in 2016.

Committee Members


Egon Verharen, NPO (Netherlands)

Vice Chairs

Klaus Illgner-Fehns, ARD/ZDF-IRT (Germany)
Gino Alberico, RAI (Italy)


Kazimir Bacic, HRT (Croatia)
Per Björkman, SVT (Sweden)
Galina Fedorova, RTR (Russia)
Grigoris Maliotis, CyBC (Cyprus)
Michael Nugent, ERT (Greece)
Judy Parnall, BBC (United-Kingdom)
Thomas Saner, SRG SSR (Switzerland)
Olli Sipilä, YLE (Finland)
Bruno Tezenas du Montcel, GRF (France)
Richard Waghorn, RTE (Ireland)

Contact details

Françoise Davies
Executive Assistant