WHAT IS AT STAKE?

The media landscape is changing rapidly. New, vertically integrated global players are able to leverage vast resources and reap economies of scale, which are very difficult to replicate for European public service media (PSM). The financing of our Members has been an ongoing challenge in times of austerity. However, it is crucial that governments find ways to provide their broadcasters with the support they need to serve the public.

Competition law needs to take into account of the full impact of new global media players on the European media landscape, and allow PSM to innovate and develop new services and content.

Un financement suffisant, stable et durable

Malgré un contexte économique difficile depuis plusieurs années, les médias de service public doivent être en mesure de fournir le niveau de service que leur public attend et qu'il mérite. Un financement stable et pérenne est indispensable si l'on veut que l'audiovisuel public puisse continuer à fournir au très grand public des contenus pertinents et de qualité. A contrario, un financement insuffisant et fluctuant serait préjudiciable à la qualité des programmes et de l'information, exposerait les organismes Membres aux influences commerciales et politiques et diminuerait leur capacité à investir dans des offres, des technologies et des talents nouveaux.

Donner aux médias de service public la liberté d'innover

Les médias de service public constituent une source d'innovation exceptionnelle, tant sur le plan de la technologie que des contenus. Le public veut avoir accès à toute une gamme de programmes et c'est précisément une telle liberté de choix que nous nous efforçons de lui proposer.

Le droit de la concurrence et la réglementation en matière d'aides d'État devraient permettre aux radiodiffuseurs européens d'innover et de coopérer afin de rivaliser à armes égales avec leurs concurrents non européens sur le marché des médias et des services OTT novateurs.

Soutenir le double système européen de radiodiffusion

Le double système européen de radiodiffusion - service public et chaînes commerciales - fonde l'identité du paysage médiatique européen et mérite donc un soutien continu. En effet, un tel système apporte la garantie que les radiodiffuseurs publics et privés puissent rivaliser aux meilleures conditions pour fournir au public européen des contenus médiatiques de haute qualité. Nous innovons constamment afin d'offrir une gamme complète de services de médias sur toutes les plateformes, en réponse aux souhaits des consommateurs qui évoluent désormais dans un environnement multiplateforme. 

07 MAI 2021

Nouvelle prise de position sur la proposition de loi relative aux marchés numériques (DMA)

Dans sa prise de position sur la loi européenne relative aux marchés numériques, l'UER réaffirme que cette dernière doit s'attaquer aux comportements déloyaux des plateformes assumant un rôle de contrôleurs...

08 SEPTEMBRE 2020

Réponse de l’UER à la consultation publique de la Commission européenne sur le nouvel outil de concurrence

Dans sa réponse à cette consultation publique, l’UER fait des recommandations concernant les éléments que devrait contenir le nouvel outil de concurrence pour résoudre les problèmes structurels de compétitivité...

08 SEPTEMBRE 2020

Loi européenne sur les services numériques (« Digital Services Act ») : recommandations des médias de service public

Un aperçu des recommandations de l’UER à la Commission européenne concernant le « Digital Services Act ».

08 SEPTEMBRE 2020

Réponse de l’UER à la consultation publique de la Commission européenne concernant la loi sur les services numériques (« Digital Services Act »)

Alors que l’UE s’apprête à fixer de nouvelles règles pour les plateformes en ligne dans le cadre du « Digital Services Act », qui est appelé à faire date, l’UER a apporté une contribution détaillée à la...

08 SEPTEMBRE 2020

Nouvel outil de concurrence : pourquoi en avons-nous besoin et comment devrait-il fonctionner ?

Ce document donne un aperçu de la réponse de l’UER à la consultation de la Commission européenne sur le nouvel outil de concurrence.  La réponse complète est disponible ici.

montrer tout

WHAT IS AT STAKE?

The media landscape is changing rapidly. New, vertically integrated global players are able to leverage vast resources and reap economies of scale, which are very difficult to replicate for European public service media (PSM). The financing of our Members has been an ongoing challenge in times of austerity. However, it is crucial that governments find ways to provide their broadcasters with the support they need to serve the public.

Competition law needs to take into account of the full impact of new global media players on the European media landscape, and allow PSM to innovate and develop new services and content.

Sufficient, stable and sustainable funding

Despite the challenging economic environment in recent years, public service media (PSM) must be able to provide the level of service that their audiences rightly expect and deserve. It is essential for PSM  to have sufficient funding to provide high-quality and relevant content to the broadest possible audience. Lack of stable and sustainable funding impacts the quality of programming and news in particular, leaving our Members vulnerable to commercial and political influence, and reducing their capacity to invest in new offerings, technologies and talented people.

Give public service media freedom to innovate

PSM are the source of outstanding innovation in both technology and content. Viewers want and deserve new choices which we endeavour to provide.

Competition law and state aid rules must allow European broadcasters to innovate and work together in order to compete fairly with non-European competitors in the provision of new media and over-the-top (OTT) services.

Support the European dual broadcasting system

The European dual broadcasting system - public service and commercial broadcasting - is the cornerstone of the European media landscape. It should continue to be supported. This system ensures that public and private broadcasters compete effectively to provide high quality media content to the European public. We are constantly innovating in order to offer a full range of media services across all platforms and address the consumer tendency to engage in a multiplatform environment. For example, audiences often watch PSM programming via our on-demand services.

07 MAY 2021

New position paper on the proposed Digital Markets Act

In our new position paper on the EU’s Digital Markets Act, we say that the Act must tackle unfair gatekeeper behaviour.

08 SEPTEMBER 2020

EBU response to the European Commission’s public consultation on the New Competition Tool

In this response to the European Commission’s public consultation, the EBU makes recommendations for what a New Competition Tool needs to contain to address structural competition problems involving online...

08 SEPTEMBER 2020

The EU Digital Services Act: Recommendations from Public Service Media

A snapshot view of the EBU's recommendations to the European Commission for the Digital Services Act package. 

08 SEPTEMBER 2020

EBU response to the European Commission public consultation on the Digital Services Act

As the EU prepares to make new rules on online platforms in its landmark Digital Services Act, the EBU has given detailed input to the European Commission’s consultation on how those rules should be shaped. ...

08 SEPTEMBER 2020

The proposed New Competition Tool: Why do we need it and how should it work?

This document provides a snapshot of the EBU's response to the European Commission consultation on the New Competition Tool.  The full consultation response is here.

show all