17 countries confirmed for Junior Eurovision Song Contest 2016

The European Broadcasting Union (EBU) has announced the 17 countries taking part in the Junior Eurovision Song Contest 2016. The next generation of young Eurovision stars will be heading for Malta this November for the 14th edition of the annual competition.

The Contest, which is taking place in Valletta for the second time in 3 years on 20 November, will demonstrate the remarkable talent each of these countries has to offer, set against the stunning backdrop of the Mediterranean island.

Among the countries set to take part are Cyprus, who were absent from last year’s competition, Israel who last took part in 2012, and Poland who have not taken part in over 10 years. Albania, Armenia, Australia, Belarus, Bulgaria, Georgia, Ireland, Italy, The Netherlands, Malta, F. Y. R. Macedonia, Russia, Serbia and Ukraine also return to the Contest following their participation in last year’s event in Bulgaria. The competition will be hosted by Maltese public broadcaster PBS at the Mediterranean Conference Centre.

In changes to the format of the Contest, the event will take place on a Sunday afternoon for the first time and participants can be between the ages of 9 to 14.

Since winning the Junior Eurovision Song Contest 2015 in Sofia, 14 year-old Maltese singer Destiny Chukunyere has been embracing her own personal and professional achievements. On 13 December 2015, shortly after the competition, Destiny was awarded the Medal for Service to the Republic by the president of Malta, Marie Louise Coleiro Preca.

Junior Eurovision Song Contest 2016

The following countries (and EBU Members) will participate in the 2016 Junior Eurovision Song Contest in Malta:

  • Albania (RTSH)
  • Armenia (Public Television of Armenia)
  • Australia (SBS)
  • Belarus (BTRC)
  • Bulgaria (BNT)
  • Cyprus (CyBC)
  • Georgia (GPB)
  • Ireland (TG4)
  • Israel (IBA)
  • Italy (RAI)
  • Malta (PBS)
  • F. Y. R. Macedonia (MKRTV)
  • The Netherlands (AVROTROS)
  • Poland (TVP)
  • Russia (RTR)
  • Serbia (RTS)
  • Ukraine (NTU)

For the latest news on Junior Eurovision 2016, which takes place on the 20 November, please visit the contest's official website junioreurovision.tv

Contact detail

Dave Goodman
Digital and Communications Manager - Eurovision Song Contest and Junior Eurovision Song Contest

+41 79 634 9097