Back to Press release

42 Countries will ‘Dare to Dream’ in Tel Aviv at 64th Eurovision Song Contest

07 November 2018
42 Countries will ‘Dare to Dream’ in Tel Aviv at 64th Eurovision Song Contest

The European Broadcasting Union (EBU) is excited to announce that 42* Members will compete to win the coveted Eurovision Song Contest trophy in Tel Aviv in 2019.

The 64th Contest, organized by the EBU and Israeli public broadcaster KAN, will take place at Tel Aviv’s Expo Centre in May next year.

Following her win in May at the world’s biggest live music event, Netta Barzilai’s victory with “Toy” has brought the Contest to Israel for a third time. 2019's competition will be the first to be hosted in Tel Aviv.

A total of 42 countries will now “Dare to Dream” as they head to Israel’s self-defined non-stop city in May next year, with the Semi-Finals taking place at Tel Aviv’s Expo Centre on the 14 and 16 of May, and the Grand Final on 18 May.

The slogan for the Eurovision Song Contest 2019, “Dare to Dream” was revealed last week by Jon Ola Sand, Executive Supervisor of the Eurovision Song Contest. The aspirational tag line symbolises inclusion, diversity and unity, which represents the core values of the Eurovision Song Contest.

Each year the slogan is chosen by the Host Broadcaster and is an important part of the event forming the creative theme of the contest’s visual identity, stage design, opening acts, interval acts, postcard production and many other creative elements of the Eurovision Song Contest.

Jon Ola Sand, Executive Supervisor of the Eurovision Song Contest, said “Last year Netta dared to dream and won the contest in Lisbon, bringing it to Israel for 2019. We are thrilled that 42 countries will be represented in Tel Aviv and hope the participating broadcasters are inspired to have the same dream. The team at KAN is busy preparing to welcome the participants - and the World! - to Tel Aviv and will be putting on a show to remember.”

Eldad Koblenz, the CEO of the Israel Public Broadcasting Corporation (IPBC), KAN added, "We already know that dreams come true when we saw Netta Barzilai win the Eurovision Song Contest in May and bring the trophy back to Israel for a third time. Netta allowed us to dare to dream and now, as these dreams are being realised, we can’t wait to host the 42 delegations who will aspire to do the same. All of us at KAN are looking forward to welcoming everyone to an exciting and memorable Eurovision Song Contest that will be watched by millions of viewers in Israel and across the globe.”

News on when tickets to the Semi-finals and Grand Final of the 2019 Eurovision Song Contest will go on sale will be announced in due course; check the official Eurovision Song Contest website, Twitter, Facebook and Instagram for updates.

Ukraine (UA:PBC) had initially confirmed their participation but withdrew on 27 February 2019.


The following countries (and EBU Member broadcasters) will participate in the 2019 Eurovision Song Contest in Tel Aviv: 

  • Albania (RTSH)
  • Armenia (AMPTV)
  • Australia (SBS)*
  • Austria (ORF)
  • Azerbaijan (ICTIMAI)
  • Belarus (BTRC)
  • Belgium (RTBF)
  • Croatia (HRT)
  • Cyprus (CYBC)
  • Czech Republic (CT)
  • Denmark (DR)
  • Estonia (ERR)
  • Finland (YLE)
  • France (FT)
  • Germany (ARD/NDR)
  • Georgia (GPB)
  • Greece (ERT)
  • Hungary (MTVA)
  • Iceland (RUV)
  • Ireland (RTE)
  • Israel (IPBC/KAN)
  • Italy (RAI)
  • Latvia (LTV)
  • Lithuania (LRT)
  • Malta (PBS)
  • Moldova (TRM)
  • Montenegro (RTCG)
  • The Netherlands (AVROTROS)
  • North Macedonia (MKRTV)
  • Norway (NRK)
  • Poland (TVP)
  • Portugal (RTP)
  • Romania (TVR)
  • Russia (RTR)
  • San Marino (RTV)
  • Serbia (RTS)
  • Slovenia (RTVSLO)
  • Spain (TVE)
  • Sweden (SVT)
  • Switzerland (SRG SSR)
  • United Kingdom (BBC)

           *EBU Associate




Relevant links and documents


Dave Goodman

Digital and Communications Manager - Eurovision Song Contest and Junior Eurovision Song Contest