NEWS published on 18 Jul 2023

EBU Members set for record FIFA Women’s World Cup coverage

EBU Members are gearing up for their most comprehensive free-to-air coverage ever of a FIFA Women’s World Cup, ahead of the tournament kick-off in Australia and New Zealand on Thursday 20 July, 2023.

Combined coverage of the tournament by EBU Members is expected to total at least 2,400 hours, more than any previous FIFA Women’s World Cup, reflecting the growing interest in Europe in women’s sport in general and women’s football in particular.

Broadcasters that have integrated the tournament into their programming schedules are as follows:

RTSH (Albania); ORF (Austria); BHRT (Bosnia-Herzegovina); RTBF & VRT (Belgium); BNT (Bulgaria); HRT (Croatia); CyBC (Cyprus); CT (Czechia); ERR (Estonia); France Televisions (France); GPB (Georgia); ARD & ZDF (Germany); MTVA (Hungary); RUV (Iceland); RTE (Ireland); RAI (Italy); RTK (Kosovo); LRT (Lithuania); LT (Latvia); RTCG (Montenegro); MRT (North Macedonia); PBS (Malta); TVR (Romania); RTS (Serbia); RTVS (Slovenia); RTV (Slovakia); RTVE (Spain); SRG (Switzerland); TRT (Turkey); UA:PBC (Ukraine); BBC & ITV (UK).

EBU Members will provide comprehensive coverage across their TV, digital and radio channels:

  • The key matches of the event will be covered on free-to-air linear TV in all territories;
  • In many territories, EBU Members have committed to show the entire event free-to-air, with at least one match per day on linear TV;
  • Highlights of the event will be widely accessible in round-up and/or news programming depending on the editorial planning of each broadcaster, as well as on digital platforms;
  • Eurovision News will support EBU Members with a large output of news clips throughout the competition.

The agreement continues the success story and legacy that was established with the EBU’s partnership with FIFA to broadcast the FIFA Women’s World Cup 2019™, held in France. EBU Members reported record audience figures and coverage of the FIFA Women’s World Cup 2019™, signalling a landmark moment for women’s sport.

The FIFA Women’s World Cup 2023™, which is the first to be held in the southern hemisphere and hosted in the Asia-Pacific region, will feature 32 teams, eight more than the previous edition in 2019.

It will comprise 64 matches kicking off on Thursday, 20 July 2023 with New Zealand versus Norway (Eden Park, Auckland) and Australia versus Ireland (Stadium Australia, Sydney/Gadigal) and concluding with the final at Stadium Australia on Sunday, 20 August 2023.


Contact detail

Claire Rainford
Manager of Communications

+41 22 717 2321