The second edition of Eurovision Choir will be hosted on Saturday 3 August 2019 at the Partille Arena in Gothenburg, Sweden.   


10 of Europe’s best amateur choirs will try to impress a panel of international choral music stars by performing an unaccompanied selection of music in a variety of styles.

Blending spectacular staging and a live stadium ambience with eclectic and profound musical performances from a wide range of traditions and cultures, Eurovision Choir will again take viewers on a colourful journey across Europe in search of the continent's pre-eminent amateur vocal group.

The show will be hosted by the BBC's Petroc Trelawny and SVT's Ella Petterson and adjudicated by Sweden’s Katarina Henryson, a founding member of pioneering a cappella ensemble The Real Group, British composer and conductor John Rutter and US producer and arranger Deke Sharon.


Learn more about and meet the choirs via the Eurovision Choir Facebook page from June 2019.


  • Performance: Each choir to perform a 4 minute unaccompanied set in the first round. Three choirs invited to perform a second, 3 minute set after which the winner is announced.
  • Genre: Any
  • Choir size: 4 - 45
  • Adjudication: Expert jury


Ella Petersson / Swedish TVElla Petersson

Ella Petersson is head of the music department at SVT and is responsible for concerts and music documentaries. She is also hosts many of SVT's culture programmes. She worked for many years as a producer and music editor at Sveriges Radio. Ella studied musicology, literature and culture at Stockholm University, 

Petroc Trelawny / BBC Radio 3Petroc Trelawny

Petroc Trelawny is one of the best-known voices on BBC Radio 3 - where he presents the daily Breakfast programme. This summer he will introduce the BBC Proms on radio and television for the 20th year running. He presents the BBC's coverage of the VPO New Year’s Day Concert and in 2018 hosted Eurovision Young Musicians from Edinburgh.



Deke_Sharon.jpgDeke Sharon

Heralded as “The Father of Contemporary A Cappella”, American Deke is a performer, arranger, music producer, producer and coach and credited by many as being responsible for the current sound of modern a cappella. He produced five seasons of The Sing Off for NBC, was arranger, music director and vocal producer for the Pitch Perfect films and was music director and guest judge on the BBC’s Pitch Battle.

John_Rutter.jpgJohn Rutter

John is a British composer and conductor; much of his early work consisted of church music and other choral pieces including Christmas carols. Today his compositions, including such concert-length works as Requiem, Magnificat, Mass of the Children, The Gift of Life, and Visions are performed around the world. His music has featured at a number of British royal occasions, including the two most recent royal weddings.

Katarina_Henryson.jpgKatarina Henryson

Swedish Katarina works within a broad range of music genres, from classical music to jazz and pop and is one of the founding members of the internationally renowned a cappella group The Real Group. With her flexible altovoice, numerous compositions and distinct stage presence she has contributed to the group for 32 years and can be heard on 20 albums. 



About 2017 event

A brand new international TV competition was launched on 22 July 2017.

Eurovision Choir of the Year 2017 featured Europe’s best amateur choirs who traveled to Riga and competed for the title Eurovision Choir of the Year. Carmen Manet from Slovenia won the inaugural competition.

Eurovision Choir of the Year 2017 was a co-production between the European Broadcasting Union (EBU) and Member Latvian Television (LTV). It took place within the popular international competition European Choir Games, organized by German-based INTERKULTUR, the world’s leading organizer of international choir competitions and festivals in collaboration with LIVE RIG gives workshops, lectures and concerts.A.

Watch Carmen Manet winning performance below and the full show here.


European Choir Games & City of Gothenberg