DIRECTDépartement / Unité Média

Junior Eurovision Song Contest

The aim of the Junior Eurovision Song Contest is to promote young talent in the popular music sector, by encouraging competition among child performers. All contestants must be 10  to 15 years old on the day of the contest.

Unlike the main Eurovision Song Contest, the country to have won the Junior Eurovision Song Contest does not automatically host the next show.

Junior Song Contest 2014

14-year-old Vincenzo Cantiello, from Italy, has been named the winner of the Junior Eurovision Song Contest 2014. The event for talented young singers aged between 10 and 15 years old took place on Saturday 15 November in Valletta, Malta.

The 12th Junior Eurovision Song Contest was held on Saturday 15 November 2014 at the Malta Shipbuilding in Marsa, Malta. The host broadcaster of this year’s event was Public Broadcasting Services Limited (PBS).

The competition was broadcast live in the 16 participating countries by EBU Members PBS (Malta), PTV (Armenia), BTRC (Belarus), BNT (Bulgaria), HRT (Croatia), CyBC (Cyprus), GPB (Georgia), RAI (Italy), RTCG (Montenegro), AVROTROS (The Netherlands), RTR (Russia), SMRTV (San Marino), RTS (Serbia), RTVSLO (Slovenia), SVT (Sweden) and NTU (Ukraine). 

The slogan of 2014 Junior Eurovision Song Contest was #together.

For more information, visit:

Vincenzo Cantiello performing at this year's JESC 2014 in Malta:


History of the Junior Eurovision Song Contest

The first Junior Eurovision Song Contest (JESC) was held in Copenhagen (Denmark) on 15 November 2003 and was an instant international hit. Since then it has been held in Lillehammer (Norway), Hasselt (Belgium), Bucharest (Romania), Rotterdam (Netherlands), Lemesos (Cyprus), Minsk (Belarus), Yerevan (Armenia), Amsterdam (Netherlands), Kiev (Ukraine).





Live event, opportunity for commercial breaks

120 minutes



Année de production

30 November 2013

Producteur exécutif
Public Broadcasting Services Limited (PBS), Malta

Radiodiffuseur participant
Armenia (ARMTV), Belarus (BTRC), Bulgaria (BNT) Croatia (HRT), Cyprus (CyBC) Georgia (GPB), Italy (RAI) Malta (PBS) – host broadcaster Montenegro (RTCG), The Netherlands (AVROTROS), Russia (RTR), San Marino (SMRTV), Serbia (RTS) Slovenia (RTVSLO), Sweden (SVT), Ukraine (NTU)

Vladislav Yakovlev
+41 22 717 24 26

Plus d'information
Official website

Contact detail

Gert Kark
Eurovision TV Project Manager
+41 22 717 2426