Palma Ars Acustica

Veronika Svobodová (©Ladislav Zelezný) and Sao Sopheak (©Sao Sopheak), 2020 Palma Ars Acustica Prizewinners

The Prix Palma Ars Acustica is an international competition organized by the Euroradio Ars Acustica Group to promote and honour outstanding productions of authors in the world of Ars Acustica: radio art, sound art, media art, text sound compositions, electroacoustic music, electronics, live electronica, etc. The 2020 Timetable and Regulations can be found here.

Two women composers are winners of this year’s EBU Palma Ars Acustica Competition
Sao Sopheak’s work Phnom Pen FM: Re / Disc / Over, entered by Austrian Radio (ORF), and Veronika Svobodová’s work Ror-bu, submitted by Czech Radio (CR), received the same number of votes at the Jury session after the Ars Acustica Plenary Meeting and were awarded the 2020 Prix Palma Ars Acustica ex aequo.
Sao Sopheak remarked:
I am very happy to be the recipient of this year's Palma Ars Acustica. As an artist and media producer, I am proud of my achievement. As a Cambodian woman, I hope that my work will make more foreigners aware of my home country and its struggle for peace and democracy throughout the last 40 years.
I want us to remember those of my sisters who did not make it as far as I did. We - a new generation of mothers and daughters - will not stop advocating for gender equality and women's rights to eliminate domestic violence, sexual harassment and other social illnesses.
I thank Austrian and European listeners and well as the award committee for amplifying my voice to make it heard around the world.
More information on our Facebook page

Congratulations to Sao Sopheak and Veronika Svobodová from the EBU Radio Team in Geneva!



Every year

Proposed by
Euroradio Ars Acustica Group

Supported by

Contact detail

Sibylle Förster
Project Manager
+41 22 717 2616