17th News Assembly

The conference will bring together news directors, editors-in-chief and foreign editors from across the EBU and to share knowledge and discuss the big challenges facing journalism and public service media today.

So don’t miss this opportunity to meet and network with your colleagues and peers. We will showcase our Members’ most innovative projects in TV, Online and Radio News, award the Gunnar Hoidahl Award for best News Exchange contributions and share a preview of the 2023 Eurovision News Report, this year focusing on reporting Climate.

On the agenda:

  • The present and future of Eurovision News and how to promote the value of public service journalism to the outside world
  • Russia-Ukraine war reporting: how to keep audiences engaged
  • Reporting climate change: case studies from Members
  • New(s) Dimensions: showcasing the most innovative projects from Members
  • NEW! A special meeting dedicated to Radio and Audio Editors on 12 October, 09:00-12:00 CEST




Location: Geneva, Switzerland


Register by: 10 Oct 2022


Members Only

Working Languages: English

Contact detail

Yolène Johanny
News Governance and Administration Manager
Francesca Matera
News External Relations Manager

Video Talks

Liz Corbin (EBU) Panel: Manica Ambrozic, TV presenter, TV journalist and editor (RTV Slovenia) Eric Scherer, Director of Innovation and International Affairs (FT) Charlotta Friborg, Head of Programming (SVT News) Martin Řezníček, Deputy Editor-in-Chief of News (Czech Television) Sam Taylor, Managing Editor (BBC News & Current Affairs) Marcel Gelauff, Editor in Chief (NOS News 2011 – 2022)
Keynote: Wolfgang Blau, Co-Founder of The Oxford Climate Journalism Network Moderator: Justyna Kurczabinska, Head of News Strategy and Transformation (EBU) Panel: Alexandra Borchardt, Lead Author, Lead author of EBU News Report Manuela Kasper-Claridge, Editor-in-Chief (Deutsche Welle) Gerrit Hiemstra, Weather Anchor (NOS) Gautier Curtil, NOWU Project Director (FT)
Emilio San Pedro, Senior Editor, News Exchange (EBU) Jukka Niva, Head of YLE News Lab Krista Taubert, Head of Foreign News (YLE) Jana Heigl, Fact-Checker and Editorial Lead for A European Perspective (BR24) Aki Kekäläinen, Head of Democracy and Digitalization (YLE News Lab) Helje Solberg, News Director (NRK) Tuomas Kerkkänen, Producer (YLE)