Singers from all over the world will congregate in the Finnish capital for the next edition of Let the Peoples Sing (LTPS), the Euroradio Choral Competition taking place at Helsinki’s Musiikkitalo (Music Centre) on 14-15 October 2017.

More than just a competition, LTPS has been a jubilant celebration of amateur choral singing since 1961. The 2017 edition will be a large-scale multimedia event thanks to YLE. It will be broadcast live, not only by EBU Members, but also on Finnish TV and streamed on the web. This means that chorus members will be singing to millions of listeners and viewers throughout Europe and beyond.

The 2017 LTPS Rules can be found here


Virginie Robineau
EBU Music on Facebook

Hannele Eklund


256px-Ylen_logo.png  ECA__logo_web.jpg

2017 Finalists

Our international jury chose the following choruses from a very competitive semi-final round. Falling into three categories, these finalists will compete in Helsinki on 15 October. Our jury members were:

  • Bent Grønholdt (Chairman, Denmarks Radio)
  • Brian Newhouse (American Public Media)
  • Àlex Robles Fitó (Catalunya Ràdio)
  • Grit Schulze (Mitteldeutscher Rundfunk)
  • Inari Tilli (YLE Radiotalo)

Children and Youth

The Norwegian Girls' Choir (Site)
Director: Anne Karin Sundal-Ask

Vaskivuori Upper Secondary School Chamber Choir
Director: Jonna Vehmanen

Female Choir of R. Glière Kyiv Institute of Music
Director: Halyna Horbatenko

Estonian Radio Children's Music Studio Girls’ Choir
Director: Kadri Hunt

The Musical Originals Singers (Facebook)
Director: Imogen Nicholls


Slavonic Tractor (Site Facebook)


Copenhagen Young Voices (Det Unge Vokalensemble) (SiteFacebook)
Director: Poul Emborg

Collegium Musicale (chamber choir) (SiteFacebook)
Director: Endrik Üksvärav

Voices of Hope (SiteFacebook)
Director: Simon Fidler


Finland is an obvious choice to host an event like LTPS, and 2017 will be a very special year since it will be the centenary of the country’s independence.

Not only can Finland boast an impressive number of high-quality amateur choruses and a strong tradition of choral singing, the repertory of late 19th- and 20th- century choral music has been greatly enriched by the works of such famous composers as Jean Sibelius and Einojuhani Rautavaara. The LTPS finals will be the culmination of an impressive weekend of choral music.

On Saturday 14 October, Sulasol (the Finnish Amateur Musicians’ Association) will hold its annual national theme day for amateur singing. This will provide the occasion for a choral marathon in the Music Centre foyer featuring

Finnish choruses, followed by an hour-long workshop for the LTPS finalists in the Concert Hall, streamed live on the Web.

The musicians will learn a special Finnish folksong arrangement, which they will then perform at an afternoon concert in the same hall. 

The LTPS finals will be held on Sunday evening, 15 October.

A prestigious seven-member jury of choral experts from across Europe and the United States, including, including Bob Chilcott and Sigvards Klava, two of Europe's most famous choral conductors and composers, will select the prizewinners in each of the three categories and award the highly coveted Silver Rose Bowl to the best overall ensemble.

Let the Peoples Sing: 2017 Trailer


Helsinki’s Musiikkitalo
(Music Centre)

LTPS will take place in Helsinki’s architecturally stunning, 1,704-seat Musiikkitalo (Music Centre), renowned for its clear sight lines and outstanding acoustics designed by Yasuhisa Toyota, who was responsible for the acoustics at Walt Disney Hall in Los Angeles.

It houses the Finnish Radio Symphony Orchestra and Helsinki Philharmonic as well as the Sibelius Academy. Opened in April 2011, its chief designer was the Finnish architect Marko Kivistö.


Past winners


1961 Glasgow Phoenix Choir, Scotland  
1962 Barrhead Philomen Singers, Scotland 
1963 Orpington Junior Singers, England Sheila Mossman
1964 Redhill Madrigal Singers, England   
1965 Glasgow Phoenix Choir, Scotland  
1966 Orphei Drängar, Sweden 
1967 Orphei Drängar, Sweden 
1968 Rodna Pessen, Bulgaria 
1969 Mariakören, Sweden 


1970 Louis Halsey Singers, England 
1971 Tapiolan Yhteiskoulun Kuoro, Finland 
1972 NRK Jentekor, Norway 
1973 Gara Iskar Cultural Center Chorus, Bulgaria / Ifjúsági Egyetemi Chorus, Hungary (ex aequo) 
1974 ELTE Béla Bartók Chorus, Hungary  
1975 NRK Girls' Choir, Norway
1976 Ontario Youth Choir, Canada 
1977 Veszprém Város Vegyeskara, Hungary
1978 Franz Liszt Chamber Chorus, Hungary
1979 Exeter College Choir, England / Marktoberdorf Large Chamber Choir, FRG (ex aequo)



1980 Candomino, Tauno Satomaa, Finland / Váci Vox Humana, Hungary (ex aequo) 
1981 NRK Studio Chorus, Norway  
1982 Stockholm Motet Choir, Sweden 
1983 Banyai Elementary School Choir, Hungary  
1984 Frankfurt Chamber Chorus, FRG  
1985 Bergen Cathedral Choir, Norway 
1986 Gösta Ohlin Vocal Ensemble, Sweden 
1987 Franz Liszt Music Academy Chamber Chorus, Weimar, FRG / Hollabrunn Chamber Chorus, Austria (ex aequo) 
1988 Bergen Cathedral Choir, Norway 
1989 Phoenix Chamber Choir, Canada 


1990 Jubilate, Astrid Riska, Finland / Konzertchor Darmstadt, Germany (ex aequo)  
1991 Balsis, Latvia Maris Kupcs and Kaspar Putnins
1992 National Youth Choir, New Zealand 
1993 Universitetskoret Lille MUKO, Denmark 
1995 Norwegian Soloists' Choir Grete Helgerud, Norway
1997 Det Jyske Kammerkor, Denmark 
1999 Embla, Norway 


Since 2000

2001 Latvian Music Academy Chorus Arvids Platpers, Latvia
2003 Pro Musica, Hungary 
2005 Tallinn Music H.S. Children's Chorus, Estonia 
2007 Schola Cantorum, Norway  
2009 Zupancic Classical Diocesan H.S. Girls’ Choir, Slovenia 
2011 Swedish Chamber Choir Simon Phipps, Sweden
2013 Cor Infantil Amics de la Unió de Granollers, Spain 
2015 Aarhus Pigekor, Denmark