NEWS published on 08 Apr 2016

Eurovision Song Contest Semi-Finals running order confirmed by SVT

Eurovision Song Contest Semi-Finals running order confirmed by SVT
Impression of the 2016 Eurovision Song Contest stage

The running order of the 2016 Eurovision Song Contest Semi-Finals has been unveiled by Host Broadcaster SVT.

Producers decided the running order to create a more exciting television show, following the same format that has been in place since 2013. The decision was approved by the EBU Executive Supervisor Jon Ola Sand and the Chairman of the Reference Group, Dr. Frank Dieter Freiling from ZDF.

"My goal is to give every song maximum space so it’s surrounded by other songs that make it stand out and shine for three minutes. This also reduces the anxiety surrounding where a country is placed in the running order. Wherever the artist is singing they have a chance to be noticed”, said SVT's Christer Björkman, Contest Producer for the 2016 Eurovision Song Contest.  

In January the Semi-Final Allocation Draw took place, determining the countries that will participate in each of the two Semi-Finals of the 2016 Eurovision Song Contest. The draw also decided which of the six pre-qualified countries (France, Germany, Italy, Spain, the United Kingdom and host country Sweden) will broadcast and vote in which Semi-Final. Further details can be found here.  

"Our ambition is to make the running order and thereby the live shows as interesting as possible for the viewers. This was also the reason for the change of rules three years ago, as the draw of lots made it possible for several similar songs to be placed after each other", Björkman explained.    

After the producers reviewed all entries, the following running order was decided on for the 2016 Semi-Finals:

Semi-Final 1

1. Finland

2. Greece

3. Moldova

4. Hungary

5. Croatia

6. Netherlands

7. Armenia

8. San Marino

9. Russia

10. Czech Republic

11. Cyprus

12. Austria

13. Estonia

14. Azerbaijan

15. Montenegro

16. Iceland

17. Bosnia & Herzegovina

18. Malta

Semi-Final 2

1. Latvia

2. Poland

3. Switzerland

4. Israel

5. Belarus

6. Serbia

7. Ireland

8. FYR Macedonia

9. Lithuania

10. Australia

11. Slovenia

12. Romania

13. Bulgaria

14. Denmark

15. Ukraine

16. Norway

17. Georgia

18. Albania

19. Belgium

The running order for the Grand Final will be decided after the second Semi-Final. The first Semi-Final has 18 participants and will be held on 10th May while the second with 19 contestants takes place on 12th May. The Grand Final of the 2016 Eurovision Song Contest will take place on Saturday 14th May. 




Contact detail

Dave Goodman
Digital and Communications Manager - Eurovision Song Contest and Junior Eurovision Song Contest

+41 79 634 9097