Euroradio Jazz Orchestra

Photo credit: ORF

Every year, the Euroradio Jazz Producers put together a European jazz big band under the name of the Euroradio Jazz Orchestra (EJO), a project that can trace its roots back to 1965. Each EBU Member may send one musician under age 30 to perform in public with the EJO, with two Euroradio Public Jazz Concerts organized by the host broadcaster. At least one concert is always recorded by the EBU host broadcaster, who is responsible for the rehearsals as well as its logistical and promotional planning.

Under the title of "Euroblues - Impressions from Europe", the 2019 EJO was hosted by ORF (producer: Andreas Felber) and coordinated by Hugo Sekoranja (SIRTVS). Under the conductor/composer Christoph Cech, the EJO gave concerts from 16 to 19 October in Graz, Vienna, Linz and Salzburg. The Jazz Producers met in Vienna on Friday, 18 October, where they elected as their new Chair Markus Partanen (FIYLE). A short video of the EJO can be found here.

The line-up was as follows:

female vocals: Ajda Stina Turek (producer: Hugo Šekoranja, SIRTVS)
female vocals: Lana Janjanin (producer: Jelena Balent, HRHRT) 

alto saxophone (lead): Oilly Wallace (producer: Fimmer Engel, DKDR) 
alto saxophone and soprano saxophone:  Sebastian Jonsson (producer: Janne Lindvall, SESR)
tenor saxophone:  Štěpán Flagar (producer: Václav Vraný, CZCR) 
baritone saxophone: Danielius Pancerovas (producer: Laima Slepkovaite, LTLR)
(all: if possible doubling on flute and / or clarinet and / or bass clarinet)

trumpet (lead): Tim Rabbitt (producer: Janet Tuppen, GBBBC) 
trumpet:   Idar Eliassen Pedersen  (producer: Anikken Sunde (NONRK) 
trumpet: Ivan Radivojević (producer: Vojislav Pantić, RSRTS Srbija)
trombone (lead):  Aarni Häkkinen (producer: Markus Partanen, FIYLE)
trombone: Janning Trumann (producer: Tinka Koch, DEWDR) 
bass trombone: Cyril Galamini (producer: Alex Dutilh, FRSRF) 

rhythm section:
piano and keyboard (nord stage): Elza Ozolina (producer: Maris Briezkalns, LVLR)
electric guitar: Andreas Erd (producer: Andreas Felber, ATORF) 
electric bass and acoustic bass:  Heikko-Joseph Remmel (producer: Ivo Heinloo, EEERR)
drums:  Daniel Bagutti (producer: Paolo Keller, CHRSI) 

Complete information and bios can be found here.



Target age
Under 30

Every year

Proposed by
Euroradio Jazz Producers

Contact detail

Marie-Cécile Billoux
Project Manager
+41 22 717 2612