LIVE EVENTDepartment / Unit TV

Junior Eurovision Song Contest

© Andres Putting

The 15th annual Junior Eurovision Song Contest, will be organised by the Georgian Public Broadcaster (GPB) following Georgia's win in 2016. It will take place on 26 November 2017 at the Olympic Palace, in the Georgian capital Tbilisi. This will be the fifth time that the contest is hosted by the previous year's winning country. The contest's slogan will be "Shine Bright".

16 EBU Members will participate in the contest with Portugal returning for the first time since the 2007 contest.

The results of the 2017 Junior Eurovision Song Contest will be determined by national juries and an online audience vote. National juries will consist of music industry professionals and kids.  


The Junior Eurovision Song Contest is one of the world’s highest profile talent events for children between the ages of 9 and 14.

Since its inception, the Junior Eurovision Song Contest has allied itself with the Eurovision Song Contest as a training ground for nurturing emerging talent. The Junior Eurovision Song Contest sets the standard for entertainment TV and embodies diversity, creativity and respect. 

Launched in 2003 and first hosted by Denmark, the annual contest promotes outstanding young singers in the field of popular music. Contestants represent their country and compete for first, second and third place trophies. 

History of the Junior Eurovision Song Contest

The first Junior Eurovision Song Contest (JESC) was held in Copenhagen on 15 November 2003 and was an instant international hit. Since then it has been held in Lillehammer (Norway), Hasselt (Belgium), Bucharest, Rotterdam, Lemesos (Cyprus), Minsk, Yerevan (Armenia), Amsterdam, Kiev, Valletta (Malta) and Sofia (Bulgaria).

Official website:




Production status

Live event

120 minutes

Target age
Youth, Family


26 November 2017

Executive Producer
2017: GPB, Georgia

Participating Broadcasters
2016: RTSH, Public Television of Armenia, SBS, BTRC, CyBC, GPB, TG4, RAI, PBS, MKRTV, AVROTROS, TVP, RTR, RTP, RTS, UA:PBC

More Information
Official website

Contact details

Gert Kark
Eurovision TV Project Manager
+41 22 717 2426
Nadja Burkhardt
Senior Project Manager
+41 22 717 2886