LIVE EVENT  • Department / Unit Media

Eurovision Choir

The second edition of Eurovision Choir will be hosted on Saturday 3 August 2019 at the Partille Arena in Gothenburg, Sweden.   


11 of Europe’s best amateur choirs will try to impress a panel of international choral music stars by performing an unaccompanied selection of music in a variety of styles.

Blending spectacular staging and a live stadium ambience with eclectic and profound musical performances from a wide range of traditions and cultures, Eurovision Choir will again take viewers on a colourful journey across Europe in search of the continent's pre-eminent amateur vocal group.

The show will be hosted by the BBC's Petroc Trelawny and SVT's Ella Petterson and adjudicated by Sweden’s Katarina Henryson, a founding member of pioneering a cappella ensemble The Real Group, British composer and conductor John Rutter and US producer and arranger Deke Sharon.


Learn more about and meet the choirs via the Eurovision Choir Facebook page from June 2019.


  • Performance: Each choir to perform a 4 minute unaccompanied set in the first round. Three choirs invited to perform a second, 3 minute set after which the winner is announced.
  • Genre: Any
  • Choir size: 4 - 45
  • Adjudication: Expert jury

About 2017 event

A brand new international TV competition was launched on 22 July 2017.

Eurovision Choir of the Year 2017 featured Europe’s best amateur choirs who traveled to Riga and competed for the title Eurovision Choir of the Year. Carmen Manet from Slovenia won the inaugural competition.

Eurovision Choir of the Year 2017 was a co-production between the European Broadcasting Union (EBU) and Member Latvian Television (LTV). It took place within the popular international competition European Choir Games, organized by German-based INTERKULTUR, the world’s leading organizer of international choir competitions and festivals in collaboration with LIVE RIGA.

Watch Carmen Manet winning performance below and the full show here.


European Choir Games & City of Gothenberg