Back to Press release

Eurovision Song Contest 2024: Semi-Finals Lineup Confirmed

30 January 2024

The line-up for the Semi-Finals of this year’s Eurovision Song Contest (ESC) has been decided by a draw, broadcast live online and on SVT.

At the ceremony, Steve Rotheram, Metro Mayor of Liverpool, representing last year’s Host City, passed on the Eurovision Insignia to the Mayor of Malmö, Katrin Stjernfeldt Jammeh, marking the official handing over to the new Eurovision Song Contest Host City. 

Malmö is hosting the Eurovision Song Contest for the third time following Loreen’s record-equaling 7th win for Sweden with “Tattoo” last May. 

The event, at the Malmö City Hall, was organized by 2024 host broadcaster SVT and the City of Malmö and presented by Farah Abadi and Pernilla Månsson Colt, who oversaw the draw back in 2013 when Malmö last hosted the Eurovision Song Contest. 

A draw was then held to determine in which Semi-Final each participating broadcaster will perform in the hope of qualifying for the Grand Final.

31 of the 37 participating broadcasters were allocated to perform in either the First Semi-Final or Second Semi-Final  (15 in the First Semi-Final 1, 16 in the Second Semi-Final). They had been divided into 5 pots, based on historical voting patterns as calculated by the Contest's official voting partner digame.*

10 countries from each Semi-Final will progress to join 6 pre-qualified countries in the Grand Final on Saturday 11 May.

France, Germany, Spain, Italy, the United Kingdom (the ‘Big Five') and last year’s winner Sweden, automatically qualify for the Grand Final, however they are each required to broadcast and vote in one of the Semi-Finals. 

A draw was held to decide the 3 countries who will vote in the First Semi-Final (Germany, Sweden, United Kingdom) and the 3 who will vote in the Second Semi-Final (Italy, France, Spain).

The ceremony was overseen by the Eurovision Song Contest’s Executive Supervisor Martin Österdahl. 

“We’re thrilled to kick off another exciting year for the Eurovision Song Contest here in Malmö,” he said. 

“Liverpool set the standard in 2023 when it comes to hosting and embracing this event and we’re looking forward to Malmö building on that incredible work when we welcome 37 delegations and hundreds of thousands of fans in May.”

Ebba Adielsson, SVT’s Executive Producer for ESC 2024 said: “The Semi-Final Draw is a milestone in the yearly calendar of the Eurovision Song Contest and something that really kicks off this exciting spring when we will be celebrating music in all forms.”

“With all the competence, experience and engagement in everyone, both behind the camera and in the City of Malmö, there is no doubt that the 2024 Eurovision Song Contest will be a mind blowing and memorable event for everyone present in the city and for the people all over the world watching at home.”

Mayor of Malmö, Katrin Stjernfeldt Jammeh, added: "Malmö is a young, diverse, and globally connected city. We love to welcome the world here, and work hard to make sure that our city remains open and welcoming for everyone who choose to visit Malmö for this year’s Eurovision Song Contest.”

The 68th Eurovision Song Contest will take place on 7, 9 and 11 May at the Malmö Arena. For more information, visit 


This year’s line up in alphabetical order, together with the participating EBU Member or Associate, is as follows:


1st semi.jpg

First half 
Cyprus (CyBC) 
Croatia (HRT)
Ireland (RTE)
Lithuania (LRT)
Poland (TVP)
Serbia (RTS)
Ukraine (Suspilne)

Second half
Australia (SBS) 
Azerbaijan (Ictimai)
Finland (YLE)
Iceland (RUV)
Luxembourg (RTL)
Moldova (TRM)
Slovenia (RTVSLO)
Portugal (RTP)



2nd semi.jpg


First half 
Armenia (AMPTV)
Albania (RTSH) 
Austria (ORF) 
Czechia (CT) 
Denmark (DR) 
Greece (ERT)
Malta (PBS) 
Switzerland (SRG SSR) 

Second half
Belgium (RTBF)
Estonia (ERR) 
Israel (KAN) 
Georgia (GPB) 
Latvia (LTV) 
Netherlands (AVROTROS)
Norway (NRK) 
San Marino (RTV) 


The Semi-Final Draw was broadcast live on SVT 2, SVT Play and the official Eurovision Song Contest YouTube channel.          

For further information visit and the official social media channels X: @Eurovision, Instagram: @eurovision, Facebook: @EurovisionSongContest, TikTok @Eurovision

*Since 2004 digame has been the official voting partner of the European Broadcasting Union (EBU) and responsible for the centralized televoting via telephone, SMS, and online.. Drawing from different pots is a method practiced by the Eurovision Song Contest.


Relevant links and documents


Dave Goodman

Digital and Communications Manager - Eurovision Song Contest and Junior Eurovision Song Contest