LIVE EVENT  • Department / Unit Media

Eurovision Young Musicians

© Ryan Buchanan - Edinburgh International Festival

Ivan Bessonov, from Russia, has been named the winner of Eurovision Young Musicians 2018. The final of this renowned competition took place on Thursday 23 August at the Usher Hall in Edinburgh, Scotland.

The 19th edition of the biennial competition for classical musicians aged between 12 and 21 was broadcast by EBU Members in 18 participating countries, 12 of them live.

2018’s competition saw the return of a semi-final elimination round, which took the form of public chamber recitals (Festival Theatre Studio) by all contestants on 18-19 August, with all recitals produced by BBC Radio 3 for distribution to the Euroradio network (as well as via web stream).

Ivan performed Tchaikovsky's Piano Concerto No 1, 3rd movement. He received a custom-made engraved trophy, EUR 7,000 and chance to perform with the BBC Scottish Symphony Orchestra in a forthcoming season. The runner-up, violinist Nikola Pajanović, from Slovenia received a EUR 3,000 prize.

Eurovision Young Musicians 2018 was produced by the European Broadcasting Union in partnership with the prestigious Edinburgh International Festival and hosted by BBC Radio 3, BBC Scotland and BBC Arts Digital.

About the Event

The contest has been held every two years since 1982. It is an international classical music event aimed at offering the broadest possible stage to talented young classical musicians and helping them embark on an international career. Previous winners of the Eurovision Young Musicians competition have gone on to enjoy huge success on the world-stage, and include Julian Rachlin (violin), Natalie Clein (cello) and Eivind Holtsmark Ringstad (viola).


The first Eurovision Young Musicians (EYM) was held in Manchester (UK) on 11 June 1982. Since then it has been held six times in Vienna, twice in Cologne and Switzerland (Geneva, Lucerne) and once each in Copenhagen, Amsterdam, Brussels, Warsaw, Lisbon, Bergen and Berlin. 

Official Eurovision Young Musicians website:




2018: Semi-finals, 18 minutes per contestant / Final, 90 minutes

Target age


Participating Broadcasters
2018: RTSH (Albania), RTBF (Belgium), HRT (Croatia), Czech TV, ERR (Estonia), WDR (Germany), ERT (Greece), MTVA (Hungary), Kan IPBC (Israel), PBS (Malta), NRK (Norway), TVP (Poland), RTR (Russia), RTV (San Marino), RTVS (Slovenia), RTVE (Spain), SVT (Sweden), BBC (United Kingdom)

Contact detail

Matthew Trustram
Project Manager
+41 22 717 2623