Home Groups Technical Committee

Technical Committee

The Technical Committee is elected during the Technical Assembly. It oversees the work of the Strategic Programmes headquartered at the EBU Technology & Innovation department.

Our Technical Committee is responsible for managing the EBU’s technical activities. The Technical Committee oversees the development of the biennial workplan and approves the creation of Strategic Programmes (also appointing their Chairs and Vice-chairs). It also approves all recommendations, positions and policies developed by the Technology & Innovation team for publication and external distribution.

Members of the Technical Committee (13 in total) are appointed by the Technical Assembly and serve a two-year term. The current Technical Committee was appointed on 10 June 2022.

Committee documents

  • Terms of Reference: Technical Assembly and Technical Committee Members Only
  • Bye-laws relating to Elections and Voting Members Only
  • Guidelines for EBU Members on Representation and Inclusion on EBU Committees

Committee members

Michael Nugent


ERT (Greece)

Michael Eberhard


ARD/SWR (Germany)

Brian Wynne


RTÉ (Ireland)

Gino Alberico

RAI (Italy)

Frédéric Brochard

France Télévisions (France)

Ziad Elmakahleh

JRTV (Jordan)

Kazim Pektaş

TRT (Türkiye)

Karl Petermichl

ORF (Austria)

Robin Ribback

SRG-SSR (Switzerland)

Read biography

Víctor Sánchez Garcia

RTVE (Spain)

Olli Sipilä

YLE (Finland)

Simon Tuff

BBC (United Kingdom)

Community events

Group meetings