European Digital Radio Alliance

The European Digital Radio Alliance (EDRA) is a joint initiative of several public and commercial broadcasters from across Europe, with the support of the European Broadcasting Union (EBU).

Unique in the radio sector, the Alliance brings together public service media (PSM) and commercial broadcasters while remaining agnostic about digital distribution technology. 

EDRA was created by twelve public and commercial broadcasters during the Radiodays Europe conference in Paris on 15 March 2016. The original press release from EDRA can be found here. Its founding members represent over 300 public service and commercial radio stations.  Today, EDRA numbers 25 members from 13 European countries.

The first objective of EDRA was to promote digital radio as the means of listening across Europe, embracing all digital technologies (DAB+, internet, or hybrid) while respecting that different countries will naturally migrate at different speeds.  As a result of its discussions, EDRA has achieved considerable success, alongside the EBU itself, in convincing the EU authorities to incorporate digital radio in the new European Electronic Communications Code (EECC), which comes into effect from 2021 onwards. 

The rephrased EDRA strategy is to promote "a direct path to the listeners" and reinforce the paradigm of "collaborating on distribution between broadcasters while competing on content".  Against the background of global digital platforms, it is important that radio broadcasters retain the relationship with listeners, rather than being dependent on intermediaries. In November 2020, the current EDRA Steering Group agreed on a manifesto.

The first Chair was Helen Boaden, Director of BBC Radio. Read the speech delivered by Helen Boaden at the European Radio Forum in 2016.  The second Chair was Travis Baxter from Bauer UK, who is currently Vice-Chair.  The current Chair is Francis Goffin, special adviser to the CEO at RTBF.

See EDRA's Terms of Reference.

EBU technical recommendations on digital radio platforms can be found on the Digital Radio page.

In October 2021, EDRA, EBU and AER came together to ask policymakers to urgently intervene in the Digital Markets Act to prevent anti-competitive activities by certain digital voice assistant platforms. Read their letter here.

Steering Group

Francis Goffin, RTBF, Belgium - Chair
Travis Baxter, Bauer, UK – Vice-Chair
Eugenio La Tenea, RTL 102,5, Italy
Helwin Lesch, ARD/BR, Germany
Karel Zyka, CR, Czech Republic

Member Organizations

ARD (Germany)
Bauer (United Kingdom)
BBC (United Kingdom)
Czech Radio (Czech Republic)
DAB (Italy) 
Deutschlandradio (Germany)
Die Neue Welle (Germany)
ERT (Greece)
FunRadio (Belgium)
Nostalgie (Belgium)
NPO (Netherlands)
NRK (Norway)
Polskie Radio (Poland)
Radio Arabella (Austria)
Rai (Italy)
ROR (Romania)
RTBF (Belgium)
RTL (Belgium)
RTL 102,5 (Italy)
RTVSLO (Slovenia)
SRG SSR (Switzerland)
Union des Radios régionales romandes (Switzerland)
Vereniging van Commerciële Radio (Netherlands)

Contact detail

Edita Kudláčová
Head of Radio
+41 79 704 2461