Drama Initiative

Mettre les contenus dramatiques européens à la disposition de nos membres

Drama Initiative_2020_1280 x 720.jpgCredit © VRT

L’initiative Drama de l’UER est une collection d’activités liées conçues pour assurer un bon accès au contenu dramatique européen pour les membres de l’UER, en mettant l’accent sur l’encouragement de la coproduction et du partage des connaissances.

Les dramatiques télévisées sont indéniablement importantes pour les auditoires des médias de service public (MSP), y compris les jeunes. Afin de rester pertinents et indispensables, les membres de l’UER doivent offrir des dramatiques de haute qualité à un moment où les acteurs commerciaux de SVOD-global perturbent de manière significative les marchés européens avec des budgets importants et une mise en service et une prise de décision agiles.

L’expérience a montré que les transactions de coproduction entre les plateformes MSP et SVOD (de plus en plus courantes) ont un coût, notamment dans le domaine des droits, où les plateformes tierces ont tendance à exiger un accès important, souvent en réduisant les droits propres des radiodiffuseurs à de courtes périodes d’exclusivité nationale. Cette situation crée des conditions d’accès difficiles pour d’autres MSP européens, mais affaiblit également l’association de la marque du radiodiffuseur commissionnaire avec la série dans la sphère publique.

L’initiative Drama vise à faciliter l’accès à des contenus de qualité en favorisant la coproduction entre les membres de l’UER comme principale source de financement.

Pour ce faire, une boîte à outils (« The EBU Drama Co-production Network ») permettra et encouragera les radiodiffuseurs de l’UER à travailler de manière agile entre eux, en tirant rapidement parti du potentiel de coproduction grâce à l’UER.

D’autres volets de l’initiative de Drama créeront un centre de connaissances pour les directeurs de dramatiques, recherchant des modèles d’affaires pour la coproduction de dramatiques et publiant des recommandations par le biais d’un rapport, tandis que les réunions de réseautage régionales dans l’ensemble des membres garantiront que toutes les parties des membres de l’UER ont accès à des partenaires de coproduction ayant des budgets et des caractéristiques culturelles alignés.

Si vous souhaitez faire ou recevoir des offres de coproduction des membres de l’UER, ou accéder aux connaissances commerciales obtenues grâce à l’initiative, contactez-nous à tv@ebu.ch pour vous assurer que les coordonnées de votre organisation sont à jour.

Les membres de l’UER peuvent trouver plus de détails sur l’initiative Drama dans le dernier présentation pdf discutée lors de notre récente Assemblée TV.

 

OFFRES DRAMATIQUES DE L’UER

Découvrez notre sélection d'Offres Drama de l’UER (Connexion UER requise) actuellement ouvert aux membres de l’UER pour les occasions de prévente et/ou de coproduction. Pour vous assurer de recevoir des alertes lorsque de nouvelles offres sont publiées, veuillez contacter tv@ebu.ch

Contacts

Elly Vervloet
Coordonnatrice, Fiction
+32 2 741 39 50
vervloet@ebu.ch

Drama and Public Service Media

Making European drama available to our Members

Drama Initiative_2020_1280 x 720.jpgCredit © Sam Moqadam/Unsplash

The EBU's Drama and Public Service Media (PSM) is a collection of linked activities designed to secure good access to European drama content for EBU Members, with a focus on encouraging co-production and knowledge sharing.

TV drama is undeniably important to public service media (PSM) audiences, including young audiences. In order to stay relevant and indispensable, EBU Members need to offer high-quality drama at a time where commercial SVOD (Subscription Video On-demand) global players are bringing significant disruption into European markets with substantial budgets and agile commissioning and decision-making.

Experience has shown that co-production deals between PSM and SVOD platforms (becoming increasingly common) come at a cost, notably in the domain of rights, where third-party platforms tend to require significant access, often reducing broadcasters’ own rights to short domestic exclusivity windows. This situation creates difficult access conditions for other European PSM but also weakens the commissioning broadcaster’s brand association with the series in the public sphere.

The Drama Initiative aims to facilitate access to high-quality content by fostering co-production among EBU Members as a primary source of financing.

To achieve this, a toolkit (‘the EBU Drama Co-production Network’) will allow and encourage EBU broadcasters to work in an agile way among themselves, quickly leveraging co-production potential through the EBU.

Other strands of the drama initiative will create a hub of knowledge for drama managers, researching business models for drama co-production and publishing recommendations through a report, while regional networking meetings across the Membership will ensure that all parts of the EBU Membership have access to co-production partners with aligned budgets and cultural characteristics.

If you would like to make or receive co-production offers from Members, or access the business knowledge obtained through the initiative, contact us at tv@ebu.ch to ensure your organization’s contact details are up to date.

Find out more in our latest presentation on Drama and Public Service Media discussed during our recent TV Assembly.

Find out about the year's work and results in our Drama and Public Service TV report.

Learn more about the first two years of EBU's Drama and Public Service Media activities in our Drama in the New Media Landscape report.

Latest publication

10 FEBRUARY 2021
Drama and Public Service TV

Drama and Public Service TV

This report summarizes work and research of the EBU Media department across the international drama sector,...

EBU DRAMA OFFERS

Explore our selection EBU Drama Offers (EBU login required) currently open for pre-sale and/or co-production opportunities to EBU members. To ensure you receive alerts when new offers are published, please contact tv@ebu.ch

Contact detail

Elly Vervloet
Coordinator, Drama
+32 2 741 39 50
vervloet@ebu.ch