NEWS published on 08 Dec 2016 • Department / Unit Communications

New EBU Executive Board Line-Up

From left to right: Gilles Marchand (SRG SSR), Marko Filli (RTV, Slovenia), Tonio Portughese (PBS, Malta)

EBU Members attending the 77th General Assembly in Lausanne have elected the remaining nine Executive Board members who will lead the EBU community for the next two years.

Gilles Marchand (SRG SSR), Marko Filli (RTV, Slovenia) and Tonio Portughese (PBS, Malta) all join the Executive Board for the first time.

Last month, Marchand was appointed as the new Director General of SSR and will take up the role in October 2017. Filli has been Director General of RTV since 2010 while Portughese has been Chair of PBS since 2013.

The Assembly warmly thanked outgoing Board members Alexander Wrabetz (ORF) and Faïçal Rachid Laraïchi (SNRT) for their service to the EBU. They will step down from the Board at the end of the year.

The Executive Board will continue to be led by Jean-Paul Philippot (RTBF) and Monica Maggioni (RAI) who were re-elected at the Summer General Assembly to the posts of President and Vice-President respectively for 2017–2018.

The Executive Board is responsible for ensuring the implementation of the EBU’s strategy and policies. Its 11 members are senior representatives of EBU Member organisations and meet around seven times a year. The new Board will serve for a two year period commencing 1st January 2017.


The full Executive Board line-up will be:

President: Jean-Paul Philippot, RTBF (Belgium) 

Vice-President: Monica Maggioni, RAI (Italy)

Cilla Benkö, SR (Sweden)

Petr Dvořák, CT (Czech Republic)

Petr Fedorov, RTR (Russia)

Marko Filli, RTV (Slovenia)

Ken MacQuarrie, BBC (United Kingdom)

Gilles Marchand, SRG SSR (Switzerland)

Tonio Portughese, PBS (Malta)

Christian Vion, FT (France)

Ulrich Wilhelm, BR/ARD (Germany)

Relevant Links

Governance and Internal Audit

Contact detail

Claire Rainford
Manager of Communications
+41 22 717 2321