NEWS published on 17 Jan 2019

Public Choice winners of Music Moves Europe Talent Awards revealed

The Public Choice Winners of the inaugural Music Moves Europe Talent Awards have been revealed at ESNS 2019’s European Music Awards Night.  The awards are given out as part of the Eurosonic Festival where EBU Members send the best artists to perform. 

A jury previously selected twelve winners in six categories, who represent the European sound of today and tomorrow. The public was then asked to vote for their favourite artist in each category.

The Public Choice Winners are:

  • Pop: Bishop Briggs (UK)
  • Rock: Pip Blom (NL)
  • Electronic:Stelartronic (AT)
  • RnB/Urban: Rosalía (ES)
  • Hip Hop/Rap: Reykjavíkurdætur (IS)
  • Singersongwriter:Albin Lee Meldau (SE)

The Music Moves Europe Talent Awards are the new European Union Prize for popular and contemporary music. These are the very first winners at the Music Moves Europe Talent Awards. ESNS 19 celebrated emerging European artists at the award night at de Oosterpoort in Groningen, with performances by Bishop Briggs, Pip Blom, Reykjavíkurdætur, Albin Lee Meldau, blackwave. Avec and Lxandra.

The Jury

The international jury for the Music Moves Europe Talent Awards consists of Huw Stephens (Presenter BBC Radio 1), Julia Gudzent (Festival Programmer Melt!), Katia Giampaolo (CEO Estragon Club Italy), Kristian Kostov (Winner EBBA + Public Choice Award 2018) and Wilbert Mutsaers (Head of Content, Spotify Benelux). Representing the organizing parties are Robert Meijerink (Booker ESNS) as the chairman of the Jury and Bjørn Pfarr (Booker Reeperbahn Festival) as the vice-chairman of the jury.

The Prize

The aim of the Music Moves Europe Talent Awards is to celebrate new and upcoming artists from Europe and support them in order to help them develop and accelerate their international careers. Therefore, the prize package consists of €5000 tour and promotion support, several performances at ESNS, free publicity and a tailor made training programme.

Succeeding the European Border Breakers Awards (EBBA), the annual Music Moves Europe Talent Awards are co-funded by the European Commission’s Creative Europe programme, with the additional support of the Municipality of Groningen, Province of Groningen and the Dutch Ministry of Education, Culture and Science.

The awards are presented by ESNS and Reeperbahn Festival, in cooperation with the EBU, Yourope, Independent Music Companies Association (IMPALA), International Music Managers Forum (IMMF), Liveurope, Live DMA, European Music Exporters Exchange (EMEE) and Digital Music Europe (DME).

Music Moves Europe

Music is one of the most popular forms of art, widely consumed, and a vibrant expression of Europe's cultural diversity. Music Moves Europe, the overarching framework for the European Commission’s initiatives and actions in support of the European music sector, and Creative Europe, the EU funding programme for the culture and audiovisual sectors, aim to help the music sector flourish by, among other things, supporting the European Border Breakers Awards in previous years. As from now, to enhance creativity, diversity and competitiveness even better, this former prize is being replaced by the annual Music Moves Europe Talent Awards.

Relevant Links

Winners of new Music Moves Europe Talent Awards revealed
Eurosonic Festival
Music Moves Europe Talent Awards Website

Contact detail

Dave Goodman
Communications Lead - Eurovision Song Contest and Live Events
+41 79 634 9097