PRESS RELEASE published on 08 Sep 2020

13 countries to take part in "reimagined" Junior Eurovision Song Contest

The EBU is excited to announce that young artists representing 13 EBU Members* will “Move the World” at the 18th Junior Eurovision Song Contest on Sunday 29 November.

Returning nations Armenia (ARMTV), Belarus (BTRC), France (FTV), Georgia (GPB), Kazakhstan (Khabar Agency*), Malta (PBS), the Netherlands (AVROTROS), Russia (RTR), Serbia (RTS), Spain (RTVE), Ukraine (UA:PBC), and hosts Poland (TVP) will all take part.

They will be joined by Germany (ARD/ZDF/Kika) which is competing for the very first time. 

The show, hosted for the second year in succession by TVP, will take on a different form this year due to the COVID-19 pandemic. 

The 18th Junior Eurovision Song Contest will be hosted live from Warsaw in a studio with all presenters and necessary crew socially distancing. Interval acts will also perform live from Warsaw.

To protect the health of the artists and ensure the competition can still take place in a fair and safe way, all the competing songs will be performed in a studio in each participating country.

“Travel restrictions and the ongoing issues relating to the COVID-19 pandemic mean regrettably we cannot bring all the artists to Poland to compete in person at the Junior Eurovision Song Contest this year,” said Martin Österdahl, the Contest’s Executive Supervisor.

“We are determined however that the show must go on and that this competition, held annually since 2003, must continue. Despite the changes this year, all the talented youngsters chosen to represent their countries will still have an equal chance to shine, and, as is tradition, families from around the world will be able to vote for their favourite songs online.”

“Every year the Junior Eurovision Song Contest unites young artists, their loved ones and music fans all over the world,” - said Jacek Kurski, President of Polish Television (TVP). 

He added, “It is an undeniable celebration of the talent of people who are just entering the world of music. That is why it is so important to create space and conditions for them to show their talent despite this year's difficulties. Just as during the spectacular show last year, TVP will do its best to provide young artists and the great international Eurovision family with a wonderful, unforgettable experience.”

To ensure continuity and the fairness of the competition, EBU Members in the 13 participating countries have agreed to use a similar stage layout and technical set up to capture the performance of their artist(s).

Although the young singers will not be able to meet in person, the JESC digital platforms will provide opportunities for all those taking part in the competition to share their experiences and perform together. There will also be coverage of preparations in their home countries and the chance for viewers at home to interact with the participants.

“Bringing families together is a core mission of public service media and as we reimagine the Junior Eurovision Song Contest for the times we currently live in we are committed to ensuring that everyone taking part this year, from the young singers around Europe to the audience at home, enjoy a positive and unifying experience,” added Martin Österdahl. 

“We are grateful to all our colleagues at TVP for rising to the challenge of producing an ambitious live international TV production that will travel the world as well as “Move The World”. 

More details about the 18th Junior Eurovision Song Contest will be revealed in the coming weeks. For the latest news on Junior Eurovision Song Contest 2020, and further details on the voting procedure please visit the contest's official website.

More on this year’s slogan and theme “Move The World

*Kazakhstan’s Khabar Agency is an EBU Associate.

Contact detail

Jo Waters
Head of Content Communications

+41 22 717 2501