16th News Assembly

Join us in celebrating 60 years of the Eurovision News Exchange with a stellar cast of speakers from the EVN's past and present at this year’s News Assembly. Former News Committee chair Gunnar Høidahl will be with us on this exceptional occasion.

This year the Assembly will elect the members of the News Committee for the next two years. The Assembly brings together news directors, editors-in-chief and foreign editors to exchange views about improving coverage, discuss challenges, and learn about best practices in an ever-changing media market.

The international broadcast news industry annual conference, News Xchange, will host two virtual sessions :

If you are a News Assembly participant, you don't need to register for these two events. You will be automatically sent the link to join us online.



Register by: 24 Nov 2021


Invitation Only

Working Languages: English

Contact detail

Eszter Czirjak
News External Relations Manager
+41 22 717 2845
Yolène Johanny
News Assistant

Video Talks

Moderator: Emilio San Pedro – Senior Editor, Eurovision News Exchange (EBU) Ine Katharina Bjølseth - Sports News Editor (EBU) Asun Gomez Bueno - Director of International Relations (RTVE) Gunnar Høidahl - former chair of the News Committee (NRK) Justyna Kurczabinska – Senior Editor, News Strategy & Development (EBU) Toms Pastors – Visiting Producer (LTV)
Moderator: Justyna Kurczabinska – Senior Editor, News Strategy & Development (EBU) Luis Jimenez – News External Relations Manager (EBU) Alexandre Brito – Journalist (RTP) Tove Mylläri – Project Manager YLE News Lab (YLE) Belen Lopez Garrido – News Editor (EBU) Sébastien Noir – Project Technology Lead (EBU)
Moderator: Philip Chetwynd - Global News Director at Agence France Presse Prof. Dr. Alexandra Borchardt - author of the EBU News Report, journalist, leadership professor, media consultant Nic Newman - Senior Research Associate at the Reuters Institute for the Study of Journalism Gilles Marchand - Director General of SRG SSR Charlotta Friborg - Head of National News Editorial and Managing Team at SVT Bram Vandeputte - Foreign Correspondent at VRT
Moderator: Krista Taubert - Head of World News and Current Affairs (YLE) Silke Dietrich - correspondent based in New Delhi (ARD) Maija Liuhto - Pakistan-Afghanistan correspondent (YLE) Ali Kasemi - Managing Director (Ariana TV)