Let the Peoples Sing

Let the Peoples Sing

Plus qu’un simple concours, Let the Peoples Sing (LTPS) est une grande fête du chant choral amateur depuis 1961. Organisé tous les deux ans dans une ville européenne différente, il n’aura pas lieu en 2021, en raison de l’épidémie de Covid-19. Cette année marque toutefois un anniversaire important. Soixante ans après la première édition, qui s’était tenue à Londres, le chœur BBC Singers donnera un concert spécial à St Peter’s Church, qui sera diffusé par BBC Radio 3 et de nombreux autres Membres Radio de l’UER. Nous remercions BBC Radio 3 et BBC Singers de nous offrir ce concert exceptionnel, dédié à tous les chœurs d’Europe et d’ailleurs.

Soixantième anniversaire de Let the Peoples Sing

Pour fêter le soixantième anniversaire de Let the Peoples Sing, un concert spécial sera donné par le chœur BBC Singers, sous la direction de Sofi Jeannin, cheffe de chœur, avec Francesca Massey, organiste. Il sera enregistré à St Peter’s Church, dans le quartier londonien d’Eaton Square. Tous les Membres Radio de l’UER sont invités à le diffuser, à l’instar de BBC Radio 3, le 22 novembre 2021, fête de sainte Cécile, patronne de la musique et des musicien.ne.s. Vous pouvez retrouver cette offre sur la plateforme MUS (référence SM/2021/10/02/01). Une création pour la BBC et l’UER de Bob Chilcott, ancien juré de LTPS et principal chef invité du chœur BBC Singers, est incluse dans le programme. Sa mise en musique du poème de James Weldon Johnson, The Gift to Sing, qui donne son nom au concert, est un hommage à tous les chœurs qui reprennent les représentations après 18 mois d’interruption.

Programme

  • Francesca Massey – Variations improvisées en fanfare sur le thème de l’Euroradio
  • Robert Lowry (arr. de Sarah Quartel) – How Can I Keep From Singing?
  • William Mathias – Let the People Praise Thee, O God
  • Sir James MacMillan – Cecilia Virgo
  • Sir James MacMillan – Gaudeamus in Loci Pace
  • Benjamin Britten – Rejoice in the Lamb, op. 30
  • Bob Chilcott – The Gift to Sing (création pour la BBC et l’UER)
  • Cecilia McDowall – Cecilia, Busy Like a Bee
  • Kenneth Leighton – Let All the World in Every Corner Sing
  • Kenneth Leighton – Ite, Missa Est, de la Missa de Gloria
  • Gabriel Jackson – La musique
  • Thea Musgrave – Anthem – to St Cecilia
  • Charles-Marie Widor (arr. de David Willcocks) – Sing

Histoire

Le concours de chant choral Let the Peoples Sing est né en 1961, avec la création d’un concours annuel de chorales britanniques par la BBC. À partir de 1966, il s’est ouvert à tous les chœurs d’Europe et, depuis la fin des années 1970, il est organisé par l’Union Européenne de Radio-Télévision, qui en a fait un événement international. Organisé tous les deux ans, le concours est accueilli, à chaque édition, par un radiodiffuseur européen différent. Il attire des chorales venues non seulement d’Europe, mais aussi du reste du monde (Canada, Israël, Philippines, Malaisie, Singapour). Un chœur américain est également arrivé en finale pour la première fois en 2011.
En savoir plus sur l’histoire de LTPS et les chœurs récompensés par ce concours.

Détails

Genre

Plus d'information
LTPS_60th_logo_ RGB_small.png

Contacts

Monica Schütz
Gestionnaire de communauté
+41 78 641 70 20
schuetz@ebu.ch

Let the Peoples Sing

Let the Peoples Sing
The BBC Singers celebrate 60 years of LTPS with a dedicated concert

More than just a competition, Let the Peoples Sing (LTPS) has been a jubilant celebration of amateur choral singing since 1961. Held every two years in a different location throughout Europe, the competition will not take place in 2021, due to COVID-19. Nevertheless, this year marks an important anniversary. 60 years after the first edition took place in London, the BBC Singers will perform a dedicated concert in St Peter’s Church to be broadcast by BBC Radio 3 and many EBU radio organizations. We are grateful to BBC Radio 3 and the BBC Singers for sharing this unique concert dedicated to all choirs in Europe and beyond.  

60 years of Let the Peoples Sing

The BBC Singers will perform an especially curated concert under the baton of Chief Conductor Sofi Jeannin, alongside organist Francesca Massey. Recorded at St Peter’s Church, Eaton Square, London, all EBU radio organizations are invited to broadcast this concert on 22 November 2021 together with BBC Radio 3 to celebrate Let the Peoples Sing’s 60th anniversary on St Cecilia Day, Patron Saint of Music and Musicians. Find the offer on the Music Exchange Platform (MUS) under the reference SM/2021/10/02/01. A BBC and EBU commission by Bob Chilcott, LTPS’s former juror and BBC Singers Principal Guest Conductor, is included in the programme. His setting of "The Gift to Sing" by James Weldon Johnson, which gives its name to the concert, is a gift to all choirs that are starting to make music again after the events of the last 18 months.

Bob Chilcott said "James Weldon Johnson’s poem, The Gift to Sing, carries a heartfelt and direct message about what it means to sing. I have endeavoured to reflect this with a piece that will not only show the rich sound of the BBC Singers but will also serve as a piece that can be sung by fine amateur choirs such as those you will hear in Let the Peoples Sing.  This 8-part ensemble piece is designed for the lovely acoustic of St Peter’s, Eaton Square."

Programme

  • Francesca Massey – Improvisional Fanfare Variations on Euroradio Theme
  • Robert Lowry (arr. Sarah Quartel) – How Can I Keep From Singing?
  • William Mathias – Let the People Praise Thee, O God
  • Sir James MacMillan – Cecilia Virgo
  • Sir James MacMillan – Gaudeamus in Loci Pace
  • Benjamin Britten – Rejoice in the Lamb, op. 30
  • Bob Chilcott – The Gift to Sing (Premiere, BBC and EBU Commission)
  • Cecilia McDowall – Cecilia, Busy Like a Bee
  • Kenneth Leighton – Let All the World in Every Corner Sing
  • Kenneth Leighton – Ite, Missa Est, from ‘Missa di Gloria’
  • Gabriel Jackson – La Musique
  • Thea Musgrave – Anthem – to St Cecilia
  • Charles-Marie Widor (arr. David Willcocks) – Sing

History

The history of the LTPS Euroradio Choral Competition can be traced back to 1961 when it was founded by the BBC as an annual contest for British choirs. Since 1966, it has been open to ensembles from throughout Europe, and starting in the late 1970s it was organized by the European Broadcasting Union as an entirely international event. The Competition takes place every two years, each time hosted by a different European broadcaster, and it attracts entries from all over the world. In recent years, in addition to European candidates, there were choruses from Canada, Israel, the Philippines, Malaysia and Singapore. A US ensemble reached the finals for the first time in 2011.

Learn more about the history and its winners.

Details

Genre

More Information
LTPS_60th_logo_ RGB_small.png

Contact detail

Monica Schütz
Community Manager
+41 78 641 70 20
schuetz@ebu.ch