PRESS RELEASE published on 31 Mar 2014 • Department / Unit Media

Eurovision Young Musicians: 2014 participants announced

The fourteen countries taking part in the 2014 Eurovision Young Musicians event in Cologne on 31 May have been confirmed by the EBU and German Member and host broadcaster Westdeutscher Rundfunk (WDR).

The 17th edition of the biennial event, open to instrumentalists aged between 10 and 19 years old, will feature the cream of European talent from Austria, Croatia, Czech Republic, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Malta, Moldova, The Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Slovenia and Sweden.

Eurovision head of television Bettina Brinkman says a number of changes have been made to the format of the show, which is part of the Eurovision family of co-productions that foster talent and provide EBU Members with quality, affordable content.

“Contestants will perform before a jury of five professional musicians led by Clemens Hellsberg, Director of the Vienna Philharmonic Orchestra, which in itself confirms how exceptional these youngsters are,” Ms Brinkmann said. “This inspiring event gives outstanding young European musicians an international platform like no other, on which  to showcase their talents.”

The two-hour show is geared towards audiences of all ages. Millions of television and online viewers from across Europe are expected to watch the live broadcast.

More information can be found at

Follow Eurovision Young Musicians

Eurovision Young Musicians on Facebook Young Musicians on Twitter Eurovision Young Musicians on Instagram


Dave Goodman
Press Liaison
T +41 79 634 9097

Vladislav Yakolev
Executive Supervisor
T +41 22 717 2426