PRESS RELEASE published on 21 Aug 2017

Nominations announced for 2017 Rose d’Or Awards

Programmes from 13 different countries have been nominated to win a coveted Rose d’Or award at the 56th annual ceremony in Berlin, on 19 September, organized by the European Broadcasting Union (EBU).

The list of 40 nominees in 10 categories from Australia, Belgium, Brazil, Canada, Denmark, Finland, France, Germany, Italy, the Netherlands, Norway, Sweden and the United Kingdom represents the best in international television and online entertainment.

Over 430 programmes from more than 160 broadcasters and production companies were submitted for this year’s Rose d’Or Awards.

Programme makers are competing to take home a coveted Rose d’Or Award in the following categories - Reality & Factual Entertainment, Arts, Game Show, Entertainment, Comedy, Drama Series, Sitcom, and, new for 2017, TV Movie, Children & Youth and Virtual Reality.

Those nominated in each category are invited to attend an afternoon of workshops, talks and screenings; giving them a chance to network with programme makers from around the world.

“We’re thrilled that the Rose d’Or has once again attracted a huge amount of interest from the global entertainment community,” said EBU Head of Television and Rose d’Or organiser Jeroen Depraetere.

“The fantastic creativity on show this year has meant our juries have had a tough job selecting the 40 nominees competing to win a Rose d’Or trophy in Berlin. As well as shows from all over Europe we’re excited to see the first show from Latin America nominated, as well as the best in entertainment from Canada and Australia. The EBU is proud that once again the Rose d’Or Awards can provide a place where the global entertainment gold standard can shine brightly.”

Following in the footsteps of Stephen Fry and John Cleese, Dame Angela Lansbury will receive a Lifetime Achievement award to celebrate her immense contribution to the world of entertainment.

A brand new award will also be handed to the Entertainer of The Year to recognize their global impact in the past 12 months.

Journalists, photographers and those who wish attend the Rose d’Or can register online here. Journalists should email for a registration code. 

Full list of nominees



Greetings From 19xx – Belgium, Lecter Media

Muslims Like Us – United Kingdom, Love Productions / BBC Two

This Time Next Year – United Kingdom, Twofour / ITV

You Can’t Ask That – Australia, ABC TV



Dante & the Invention of Hell – Italy, Sky Italia SRL

A Midsummer Night’s Dream – Sweden, SVT

The Secret of a Master Painter – The Netherlands, NPO 2

Young Men – United Kingdom, BalletBoyz Ltd. / BBC Two



Babushka – United Kingdom, STV Productions / ITV

Bigheads – United Kingdom, Primal Media / Sony Pictures Television

Só Pra Parodiar – Brazil, Multishow / Winnin

The Wall (Face au Mur) – France, Endemol Shine France / TF1



Britain’s Got Talent – United Kingdom, ITV

Kitchen Impossible –Germany, Endemol Shine Germany GmbH

Mindf*ck – The Netherlands, OVP / NPO1

Stasera a Casa Mika (Tonight at Mika’s Home) – Italy, RAI 2



Anti Bully Club - The Netherlands, Evangelische Omroep / Skyhigh TV

Club der Roten Bänder (Red Bracelets) – Germany, Bantry Bay / VOX

Hashtag – Sweden, Zentropa Sweden / SVT

Inside My Head: A Newsround Special – United Kingdom, CBBC



Brexaggedon?! – United Kingdom, Hat Trick Productions Ltd. / BBC 2

Fleabag – United Kingdom, Two Brothers Pictures / BBC 3

Here Come the Habibs – Australia, Jungle / Channel Nine Australia

Kroymann – Germany, BTF GmbH / Das Erste



Henry IX – United Kingdom, Retort / Serious Comedy / Gold

People Just Do Nothing – United Kingdom, Roughcut TV / BBC3

Wingman – Finland, YLE

Witless – United Kingdom, Objective Fiction / BBC One / BBC3



The Crown – United Kingdom, Left Bank Pictures / Netflix

The Night Manager – United Kingdom, The Ink Factory / Demarest / Character Seven / BBC One

Nobel – Peace at Any Cost – Norway, Monster Scripted / NRK / DRG

The Young Pope – United Kingdom, SKY / HBO / Canal+



Camp Holland – The Netherlands, KeyFilm / Evangelische Omroep

King Charles III – United Kingdom, Drama Republic / BBC Two

Reg – United Kingdom, LA Productions / BBC One

The Verdict – Germany, Beta Film GmbH / ARD



 At Anton’s Home – Denmark, DR

The Enemy – France, Camera Lucida Productions

Halcyon – Canada, Secret Location

Lost in Time – United Kingdom / Norway, FremantleMedia Norway / The Future Group / TV Norge