Back to Press release

Denmark's Vocal Line win Eurovision Choir 2019

03 August 2019

Denmark’s Vocal Line has won the 2nd Eurovision Choir competition held in Gothenburg, Sweden on Saturday 3 August. The event saw amateur choirs from 10 different countries compete for the title Eurovision Choir 2019.

Babite Municipality Mixed Choir MASKA from Latvia came second and Slovenia’s Jazzva were placed third.

The competition, organized by the European Broadcasting Union (EBU) together with the European Choir Games and City of Gothenburg, was broadcast by participating EBU Members RTBF (Belgium) DR (Denmark), WDR (Germany), LTV (Latvia), NRK (Norway), BBC Alba (Scotland), RTVSLO (Slovenia), SVT (Sweden). RTS (Switzerland) and S4C (Wales).

The full show can be watched here.

The 10 competing choirs performed a set up to 4 minutes long in front of an audience of around 3,500 people.

They were then judged by a jury composed of British choral composer John Rutter, Swedish vocalist Katarina Henryson and American performer and arranger Deke Sharon.

The jury was asked to score on the technical skill and accuracy of the choir, the quality of their sound, their musicianship and interpretation and the communication of the piece they performed.

Three choirs from Latvia, Denmark and Slovenia, were then selected to perform a different three-minute piece before the winner was decided.  

Vocal Line performed True North and Viola conducted by Jens Johansen.

Vocal Line is a contemporary a capella choir from Aarhus, Denmark, consisting of 30 singers. The choir was established in 1991 and say its goal is to be the front runner in the development of rhythmical acapella choir music nationally as well as internationally.

In 2010 Vocal Line performed with the world-famous vocal equilibrist Bobby McFerrin in New York and in Aarhus. In 2014 the choir performed at the Roskilde Festival on stage with the legendary Rolling Stones.

As well as a trophy and the title Eurovision Choir 2019, Vocal Line have also won a trip to the World Choir Games in Flanders, Belgium in 2020.


EBU Head of Live Events Jon Ola Sand congratulated the winning choir and praised the production: "Vocal Line truly deserve to be named Eurovision Choir 2019. Tonight, we saw 10 choirs sharing a fantastic spirit of togetherness. 

The joy these singers feel making music with each other carried across to the audiences here in Gothenburg and those watching at home.

This year’s Eurovision Choir provided a fantastic journey across Europe’s cultures and traditions and we’re thrilled to have provided another opportunity for public service media to use music to unite audiences.”

“The EBU congratulates our incredible broadcasting team who created a wonderful production and thanks our partners Interkultur and the City of Gothenburg who helped make Eurovision Choir possible,” he added.


The show was presented by BBC Radio presenter Petroc Trelawny and SVT’s Head of Music Ella Petersson and was produced by the European Broadcasting Union with an international team from Estonia, Germany, Latvia, Norway, Sweden and the United Kingdom.

Further details about the competition can be found on the official website.. Hi-res photos from the event can be downloaded here.

Competing choirs

Belgium (RTBF) – Almakalia, conducted by Nicolas Dorian

Denmark (DR) - Vocal Line, conducted by Jens Johansen

Germany (WDR) – BonnVoice, conducted by Tono Wissing

Latvia (LT) – Babite Municipality Mixed Choir MASKA, conducted by Jānis Ozols

Norway (NRK) - Volve Vokal, conducted by Gro Espedal

Scotland (BBC Alba) – Alba, conducted by Joy Dunlop

Slovenia (RTVSLO) – Jazzva, conducted by Jasna Žitnik

Sweden (SVT) - Zero8, conducted by Rasmus Krigström

Switzerland (RTS) - Cake O'Phonie, conducted by Antoine Krattinger

Wales (S4C) - Ysgol Gerdd Ceredigion, conducted by Islwyn Evans



Relevant links and documents


Dave Goodman

Digital and Communications Manager - Eurovision Song Contest and Junior Eurovision Song Contest