PRESS RELEASE published on 02 Sep 2021

19 countries for 19th Junior Eurovision Song Contest

The European Broadcasting Union (EBU) and France Télévisions are excited to announce that 19 Members* will participate in the 19th Junior Eurovision Song Contest. The event will take place in Paris at La Seine Musicale – a spectacular concert hall located on Île Seguin in the River Seine – on Sunday 19 December.

France Télévisions will stage the Contest following their first win in Poland last November with “J’imagine” by Valentina. 11 of the broadcasters who took part in Warsaw will return in 2021 together with 8 who last took part pre-pandemic.

Participating Countries and Members:

Albania (RTSH)
Armenia (AMPTV)
Azerbaijan (Ictimai)
Bulgaria (BNT)
France (France TV)
Germany (NDR/KiKa)
Georgia (GPB)
Ireland (TG4)
Italy (Rai)
Kazakhstan (Khabar Agency)*
Malta (PBS)
Netherlands (AVROTROS)
North Macedonia (MKRTV)
Poland (TVP)
Portugal (RTP)
Russia (RTR)
Serbia (RTS)
Spain (TVE)
Ukraine (UA: PBC)

“We’re excited to welcome 19 countries for the 19th Junior Eurovision Song Contest on 19 December in Paris, particularly those who didn’t participate in last year’s show because of the pandemic," said the Contest's Executive Supervisor Martin Österdahl.

"The preparations so far from France Télévisions have been exemplary and this year’s Contest promises to be the best yet. We’re looking forward to hosting young talents from across Europe for a truly magical event with plenty of surprises!”

French Head of Delegation and Director of Variety and Entertainment at France Télévisions, Alexandra Redde-Amiel added: "The entire French delegation is delighted to welcome for the first time in France, in close collaboration with the EBU, the 19 countries that will take part in the Junior Eurovision Song Contest 2021 on 19 December. France TV is looking forward to welcoming these European singing talents to the City of Light during the Christmas season. This unique family event will be a starry-eyed treat for all viewers, young and old. Long live the Junior Eurovision Song Contest!"

The Junior Eurovision Song Contest has been a family favourite since first appearing in 2003; that year Croatia’s Dino Jelusić won the Contest in Copenhagen with the song Ti Si Moja Prva Ljubav (You Are My First Love).

A total of 40 different nations have participated in the Junior Eurovision Song Contest since then. Georgia has the most trophies, having won on 3 occasions. Belarus, Malta, Poland and Russia have notched up two victories each.

This year’s event will take place less than a week before Christmas under the slogan “Imagine”. The artwork for the show reflects the festive timing as well as incorporating the French capital’s most famous landmark and a rocket, to fire the imagination of those taking part and the millions watching at home. 

For all the latest news and fun around this year’s Junior Eurovision Song Contest follow our Twitter, Instagram, TikTok and Facebook channels and check out

*Khabar Agency from Kazakhstan is an EBU Associate 

Contact detail

Dave Goodman
Digital and Communications Manager - Eurovision Song Contest and Junior Eurovision Song Contest

+41 79 634 9097