PRESS RELEASE published on 05 Dec 2023

37 broadcasters to take part in 68th Eurovision Song Contest in Malmö

37 public broadcasters will take part in the Eurovision Song Contest when the world’s biggest live music event is staged in Malmö next May.

The 68th Contest, organized by the European Broadcasting Union (EBU) and its Swedish Member SVT will be held at the Malmö Arena on 7, 9 and 11 May 2024.

Of the 37 nations taking part, 31 will compete in two Semi-Finals with 10 successful acts from each Semi-Final joining the Big 5 (France, Germany, Italy, Spain and the UK) and hosts Sweden in the Grand Final.

The 36 countries represented in 2023’s Contest will return next year and be joined by RTL from Luxembourg who will take part for the first time since 1993.

Whilst Romania is currently not confirmed to compete next year, talks are continuing with TVR on their potential participation as well. 

Sweden will host the Eurovision Song Contest following Loreen’s triumph in Liverpool in May 2023 with “Tattoo” giving her country a record-equaling 7th win. 

The Eurovision Song Contest has previously been held in Malmö in 1992 and 2013, Stockholm in 1975, 2000 and 2016 and Gothenburg in 1985. 

More details about the Eurovision Song Contest 2024, including the branding and stage design, will be revealed shortly. 

Frequently Asked Questions about next year’s event can be found here.

To keep up to date check out and follow the official Eurovision Song Contest Twitter, Instagram, TikTok, Facebook and YouTube channels.


The following EBU Member broadcasters will participate in the Eurovision Song Contest 2024 in Malmö:

Albania (RTSH)
Armenia (AMPTV)
Australia (SBS)*
Austria (ORF)
Azerbaijan (Ictimai TV)
Belgium (RTBF)
Croatia (HRT)
Cyprus (CyBC)
Czechia (CT)
Denmark (DR)
Estonia (ERR)
Finland (YLE)
France (FT)
Germany (ARD/NDR)
Georgia (GPB)
Greece (ERT)
Iceland (RUV)
Ireland (RTE)
Israel (KAN)
Italy (RAI)
Latvia (LTV)
Lithuania (LRT)
Luxembourg (RTL)
Malta (PBS)
Moldova (TRM)
Netherlands (AVROTROS)
Norway (NRK)
Poland (TVP)
Portugal (RTP)
San Marino (RTV)
Serbia (RTS)
Slovenia (RTVSLO)
Spain (RTVE)
Sweden (SVT)
Switzerland (SRG SSR)
Ukraine (Suspilne Ukraine)
United Kingdom (BBC)

 *EBU Associate