Back to Press release

43 countries to take part in 2017 Eurovision Song Contest

31 October 2016

The EBU is pleased to announce that 43 countries will participate in the 2017 Eurovision Song Contest in Kyiv - equalling the record set in 2008 and 2011.

The 62nd Contest will be organised together with Ukrainian Member NTU, following Jamala’s win with “1944” in Stockholm in May. The semi-finals of the 2017 Eurovision Song Contest will take place on Tuesday 9 and Thursday 11 May, with the Grand Final on Saturday 13 May.

Romania (TVR) and Portugal (RTP) are set to make their return after a year’s absence. It will be a special year for Austria (ORF) and Denmark (DR) too, who are both celebrating the 60th anniversary of their first ever appearances in the contest.

Australia are also set to make their 3rd appearance in the contest, after first being given special permission to compete in 2015, and following on from a 2nd place finish in Stockholm this year.

The 62nd Eurovision Song Contest will take place in Ukraine’s capital city, which previously hosted the competition in 2005, as well as the Junior Eurovision Song Contest in 2009 and 2013. The venue will be the International Exhibition Centre, which has the capacity for 11,000 spectators.

Jon Ola Sand, EBU Executive Supervisor of the Eurovision Song Contest, said “We are delighted that 43 national broadcasters have signed up for the Eurovision Song Contest 2017, equalling our record highest participation. We have not had this many countries in one Contest since 2011 in Dusseldorf. The Eurovision Song Contest still unites audiences like no other show reaching over 200 million people in 2016. We’re looking forward to three fantastic shows in Kyiv next May.”


The following countries (and EBU Members) will participate in the 2017 Eurovision Song Contest in Kyiv: 

  • Albania (RTSH)
  • Armenia (AMPTV)
  • Australia (SBS)
  • Austria (ORF)
  • Azerbaijan (ICTIMAI TV)
  • Belarus (BTRC)
  • Belgium (RTBF)
  • Bulgaria (BNT)
  • Croatia (HRT)
  • Cyprus (CYBC)
  • Czech Republic (CT)
  • Denmark (DR)
  • Estonia (ERR)
  • Finland (YLE)
  • France (FTV)
  • Germany (ARD/NDR)
  • Georgia (GPB)
  • Greece (ERT)
  • Hungary (MTVA)
  • Iceland (RUV)
  • Ireland (RTE)
  • Israel (IBA)
  • Italy (RAI)
  • Latvia (LTV)
  • Lithuania (LRT)
  • F. Y. R. Macedonia (MKRTV)
  • Malta (PBS)
  • Moldova (TRM)
  • Montenegro (RTCG)
  • The Netherlands (AVROTROS)
  • Norway (NRK)
  • Poland (TVP)
  • Portugal (RTP)
  • Romania (TVR)
  • Russia (Channel One)
  • San Marino (RTV)
  • Serbia (RTS)
  • Slovenia (RTVSLO)
  • Spain (TVE)
  • Sweden (SVT)
  • Switzerland (SRG/SSR)
  • Ukraine (NTU)
  • United Kingdom (BBC)

For the latest news on the 2017 Eurovision Song Contest please visit the contest’s official website



Relevant links and documents


Dave Goodman

Digital and Communications Manager - Eurovision Song Contest and Junior Eurovision Song Contest