Back to Stories

Line up complete for 62nd Eurovision Song Contest Grand Final

11 May 2017
Line up complete for 62nd Eurovision Song Contest Grand Final

The 26 countries competing to win the 62nd Eurovision Song Contest (ESC) in the Grand Final on Saturday 13 May are now known, following two exciting Semi-Finals in this year’s host city Kyiv, Ukraine.

Austria, Belarus, Bulgaria, Croatia, Denmark, Hungary, Israel, The Netherlands, Norway and Romania all qualified from the second Semi-Final held at the International Exhibition Centre on Thursday 11 May.

Armenia, Australia, Azerbaijan, Belgium, Cyprus, Greece, Moldova, Portugal, Poland and Sweden were all voted through from the first Semi-Final of the competition on Tuesday 9 May.

The 20 Semi-Final qualifiers join France, Germany, Italy, Spain and the United Kingdom, as well as hosts Ukraine, who all have an automatic place in the Grand Final. The full list of competing songs and artists can be found at the official ESC website

The result of each Semi-Final was decided by adding together the votes of national juries in each participating nation with telephone votes from viewers.

The Eurovision Song Contest also saw its first marriage proposal at the 2nd Semi-Final when FYR Macedonia entrant Jana said yes to her boyfriend live on air.

42 countries in total are taking part in this year’s competition.

Around 1,300 journalists from over 80 nations are in the host city of Kyiv covering the world’s biggest non-sporting live television event.

“We have 26 great songs competing in the Eurovision Song Contest Grand Final which will ensure a very exciting competition on Saturday night. The millions watching the world’s biggest music entertainment show are promised a spectacular evening,” said Jon Ola Sand, Executive Supervisor of the Eurovision Song Contest.

The Grand Final of the 2017 Eurovision Song Contest will be broadcast in all 42 participating nations by EBU Members ORF (Austria), PTV (Armenia), RTSH (Albania), ICTIMAI (Azerbaijan), BTRC (Belarus), VRT (Belgium), RTBF (Belgium), BNT (Bulgaria), HRT (Croatia), CyBC (Cyprus), ČT (Czech Republic), DR (Denmark), ERR (Estonia), YLE (Finland), GPB (Georgia), ARD (Germany), ERT (Greece), MTV (Hungary), RÚV (Iceland), RTÉ (Ireland), IBA (Israel), RAI (Italy), LTV (Latvia), LRT (Lithuania), RTCG (Montenegro), MRT (FYR Macedonia), PBS (Malta), TRM (Moldova), RTCG (Montenegro), AVROTROS (The Netherlands), NRK (Norway), TVP (Poland), RTP (Portugal),TVR (Romania), SMRTV (San Marino), RTS (Serbia), RTVSLO (Slovenia), RTVE (Spain), SVT (Sweden), SRG SSR (Switzerland), NTU (Ukraine), BBC (United Kingdom) and Associate Member SBS (Australia).

The 3.5 hour Grand Final will also be broadcast live in China, Kosovo, Kazakhstan and in the United States for the second consecutive year on Logotv as well as the official Youtube channel.

204 million people saw last year’s Eurovision Song Contest from Stockholm.


Relevant links and documents


Dave Goodman

Digital and Communications Manager - Eurovision Song Contest and Junior Eurovision Song Contest