Belgian artist takes this year's Palma Ars Acustica

Belgian artist takes this year's Palma Ars Acustica
Anne Lepère, winner of the 2019 Palma Ars Acustica

The jury of the Palma Ars Acustica, chaired by Soila Valkama of YLE, has announced that the 2019 winner is Autopoiesis by Anne Lepère, presented by RTBF / acsr, Belgium. The work is available to EBU radio organizations in MUSNew as AA/2019/03/01/03.

Born in 1985, this Brussels-based artist explores the relationships between various strains of sound design in her work: field recordings, radio drama and experimental music. In her creations, the use of voice is very often chosen as the start from a more intimate point before opening up to a larger frame. Supported by the Wallonia-Brussels Federation and the acsr, Autopoiesis is her first long radio drama, completed in 2018. 

Anne Lepère's work has been broadcast on radio and during events in Belgium and elsewhere in Europe as well as in North America. Increasingly, she has been working on stage with live sound performance and installation as well as with dancers and choreographers. She has created the sound design and music for such choreographic and theatre pieces as “Grand Tétras” by Marion Sage and “Rapid Eye Movement” by Estelle Gautier.

"I am thrilled to be the winner this year!", said Anne Lepère. "Sound art is for me a way to meet the invisible. The fact that this radio work is now being shared and awarded the Palma Ars Acustica is a great honour."

An interview of Anne Lepère is available here.

The other works in the final round were:
RTS (Switzerland) - Thomas Tilly: Codex Amphibia
CR - Marek Piaček : Rivers, People and Bridges
BR - Nicolas Humbert / Marc Parisotto: Cut up the border
YLE - Hanna-Helena Kinnunen: The Garden Man – Homo hortulanus