PRESS RELEASE published on 20 Oct 2021

41 countries to take part in 66th Eurovision Song Contest 

Public broadcasters from 41 countries will take part in the Eurovision Song Contest when the world’s biggest live music event is staged in Turin next May.

The 66th Contest, organized by the European Broadcasting Union (EBU) and its Italian Member Rai, will be held at Turin’s PalaOlimpico on 10, 12 and 14 May 2022.

All the 39 participating broadcasters from 2021 are returning next year. They will be joined by RTCG from Montenegro and Armenia’s national broadcaster ARMTV who last competed in 2019 when 41 countries also took part. 

Martin Österdahl, Executive Supervisor of the Eurovision Song Contest, said: “We are so excited that we once again have over 40 broadcasters competing to win the iconic Eurovision trophy in Turin next May.

”The team from Rai are working hard on preparations to welcome all the delegations to a new Host City and ensuring the Eurovision Song Contest will provide the excitement and state-of-the-art spectacle expected by nearly 200 million viewers.”

Simona Martorelli and Claudio Fasulo from Rai added: "After 31 years, Italy is proud to host the Eurovision Song Contest again! As Executive Producers, we are incredibly excited to set up this amazing event and welcome delegations from 41 nations to Turin next year.

“Above all, we strongly believe the Eurovision Song Contest will allow us to showcase and share the beauty of Italy with a global audience via the elements that unite us all: music and harmony."

Of the 41 nations taking part, 36 will compete in two Semi-Finals with 10 successful acts from each Semi-Final joining 4 of the Big 5 (France, Germany, Spain, United Kingdom) and hosts Italy in the Grand Final.

Italy won the right to stage next year’s event when Måneskin gave their country its first win since 1990 with the song “Zitti e Buoni” at this year’s Contest in May.

Rai will host the Eurovision Song Contest for a third time having previously staged the event in Naples in 1965 and Rome in 1991.

More details about the Eurovision Song Contest 2022, including the slogan for the event and details on ticket sales, will be revealed in the coming months. 

Check, @Eurovision on Twitter, Eurovision Song Contest on Facebook, @Eurovision on Instagram and the official Eurovision app for updates.


The following countries (and EBU Member broadcasters) will participate in the Eurovision Song Contest 2022 in Turin:

Albania (RTSH)
Armenia (AMPTV)
Australia (SBS)*
Austria (ORF)
Azerbaijan (Ictimai TV)
Belgium (RTBF)
Bulgaria (BNT)
Croatia (HRT)
Cyprus (CyBC)
Czech Republic (CT)
Denmark (DR)
Estonia (ERR)
Finland (YLE)
France (FT)
Germany (ARD/NDR)
Georgia (GPB)
Greece (ERT)
Iceland (RUV)
Ireland (RTE)
Israel (KAN)
Italy (RAI)
Latvia (LTV)
Lithuania (LRT)
Malta (PBS)
Moldova (TRM)
Montenegro (RTCG)
Netherlands (AVROTROS)
North Macedonia (MKRTV)
Norway (NRK)
Poland (TVP)
Portugal (RTP)
Romania (TVR)
Russia (RTR)
San Marino (RTV)
Serbia (RTS)
Slovenia (RTVSLO)
Spain (TVE)
Sweden (SVT)
Switzerland (SRG SSR)
Ukraine (UA:PBC)
United Kingdom (BBC)
 *EBU Associate