Back to Press release

37 countries to take part in 67th Eurovision Song Contest in Liverpool

20 October 2022

Public broadcasters from 37 countries will take part in the Eurovision Song Contest when the world’s biggest live music event is staged in Liverpool next May.

The 67th Contest, organized by the European Broadcasting Union (EBU) and the BBC on behalf of 2022 winners Ukraine, will be held at Liverpool Arena on 9, 11 and 13 May 2023.

Of the 37 nations taking part, 31 will compete in two Semi-Finals with 10 successful acts from each Semi-Final joining 4 of the Big 5 (France, Germany, Italy, and Spain), hosts the United Kingdom and Ukraine in the Grand Final.

The BBC agreed to stage the 2023 event on behalf of Ukrainian broadcaster UA:PBC following their win in at this year’s Contest in Turin with Kalush Orchestra’s “Stefania”.

Martin Österdahl, Executive Supervisor of the Eurovision Song Contest, said: “We’re looking forward to welcoming artists from all 37 countries to Liverpool, the city of pop, next May.”

”Next year’s competition promises to be an extra special one and we’re working hard with the BBC right now to ensure that hundreds of millions of viewers will enjoy the best Eurovision Song Contest yet, with Ukraine at the heart of the event.”

Martin Green, BBC’s Managing Director of the Eurovision Song Contest added: 

“We are incredibly proud to be hosting the Eurovision Song Contest on behalf of Ukraine and welcoming delegations from 37 countries to Liverpool next year. The BBC is committed to making the event a true reflection of Ukrainian culture and showcasing British creativity to a global audience.”

The UK will host the Eurovision Song Contest for a record 9th time having previously stepped in to host the event for other broadcasters in London in 1960 and 1963, in Edinburgh in 1972 and Brighton in 1974. The BBC also staged the Contest following 4 of their 5 wins: in London in 1968 and 1977, Harrogate in 1982 and Birmingham in 1998. 

More details about the Eurovision Song Contest 2023, including the slogan for the event and details on ticket sales, will be revealed in the coming months. 

Frequently Asked Questions about next year’s event can be found here.

To keep up to date check out and follow the official Eurovision Song Contest Twitter, Instagram, TikTok and Facebook channels.


The following countries (and EBU Member broadcasters) will participate in the Eurovision Song Contest 2023 in Liverpool:

Albania (RTSH)
Armenia (AMPTV)
Australia (SBS)*
Austria (ORF)
Azerbaijan (Ictimai TV)
Belgium (VRT)
Croatia (HRT)
Cyprus (CyBC)
Czech Republic (CT)
Denmark (DR)
Estonia (ERR)
Finland (YLE)
France (FT)
Germany (ARD/NDR)
Georgia (GPB)
Greece (ERT)
Iceland (RUV)
Ireland (RTE)
Israel (KAN)
Italy (RAI)
Latvia (LTV)
Lithuania (LRT)
Malta (PBS)
Moldova (TRM)
Netherlands (AVROTROS)
Norway (NRK)
Poland (TVP)
Portugal (RTP)
Romania (TVR)
San Marino (RTV)
Serbia (RTS)
Slovenia (RTVSLO)
Spain (TVE)
Sweden (SVT)
Switzerland (SRG SSR)
Ukraine (UA:PBC)
United Kingdom (BBC)

 *EBU Associate

Relevant links and documents


Dave Goodman

Digital and Communications Manager - Eurovision Song Contest and Junior Eurovision Song Contest