The New European Songbook


The New European Songbook - a 2017 multi-platform co-production from the EBU TV Music & Dance Experts' group - celebrates the new music arising from a continent in flux.

The film incorporates newly commissioned songs from six EBU Members, each accompanied by an artistic video concept. The theme for this year's edition was 'Europe', and the musical consequences arising from the phenomenon of migration. In the film, artists discuss their musical collaboration and their new lives in Europe.

Featured artists include former Eurovision Song Contest winner Conchita Wurst performing with Basalt, a group of Syrian musicians whose promising musical career in Damascus was destroyed by war, and, finding themselves by fate reunited in Vienna, reformed the band.

Artists involved in the project were invited to the Edinburgh International Festival to perform their songs live in front of a sold-out audience, performances which were streamed live by the BBC.

Song list:

  • Small House - Conchita Wurst & Basalt (ORF / Austria)
  • Departure - Shalan Alhamwy, Rasha Rizk, Benyamin Nuss (WDR / Germany)
  • Uskundar - musicians from Orpheus XXI project (France 2)
  • Triste Sina ('Sad Fate') - Demian Cabaud and Carolina (RTP / Portugal)
  • La Notte Sa ('Only the Night Knows') - Scilla Hess and Markelian Kapidani (RSI / Switzerland)
  • A Time Will Come - Karine Polwart and Naa Densua Tordzro (BBC / UK)
  • The Boat That Brought Me - Matthew Herbert, Heidi Vogel and Arian Sadr (BBC / UK)

Broadcasting rights are available to all EBU Members. 

View the songs here and below:



Co-production or content offer

1 x 30-45’ programme / Multiple 3-4’ clips

Target age
Youth (15-34), Specialist Music

Singers may sing in their native language or in English. Subtitling script available for non-English language performances.

Year of production

4 October 2017

Developed with the support of

Contact detail

Matthew Trustram
Head of Television
+41 22 717 2623