Les enjeux

En matière d'innovation, de participation démocratique et de liberté d'expression, Internet revêt une importance primordiale. Son caractère ouvert, qui encourage l'investissement dans la création et l'innovation et stimule directement la croissance de l'utilisation du haut débit, est un élément-clé de sa réussite.

Le principe fondamental de l'Internet ouvert ou de la neutralité du Net repose sur des réglementations nationales, régionales et supranationales visant à empêcher que le trafic en ligne ne soit indûment bloqué, ralenti, altéré, ou dégradé, ou qu'il soit sujet à discrimination. Si l'Internet à plusieurs vitesses en fonction du type de services devait être la norme dans l'avenir, cela porterait un coup fatal à ces principes tout en creusant un fossé numérique séparant les privilégiés du Net et les autres.

En tant que médias de service public, nous voulons nous assurer que notre public jouisse d'un accès sans entrave, non discriminatoire et transparent aux contenus d'intérêt public distribués en ligne. Pour cela, nous avons besoin d'un cadre clair qui garantisse que tout le trafic de données en ligne est géré de manière transparente et sur un pied d'égalité.

Garantir la transparence pour l'utilisateur final

La transparence sur l'Internet ouvert est le premier des pré-requis pour que l'utilisateur puisse accéder aisément aux contenus en ligne qu'il recherche. Pour qu'il soit en mesure de faire un choix éclairé, il lui faut des informations claires et accessibles sur la gestion du trafic et la qualité de la connectivité.

La transparence est également indispensable au marché concurrentiel des fournisseurs d'accès à haut débit. Toutefois, les mesures visant à augmenter la transparence n'auront qu'un impact limité si elles ne sont pas associées à des politiques fermes et claires en matière de gestion du trafic sur Internet.

Limiter la gestion du trafic et éviter toute discrimination

Les pratiques de gestion du trafic par les opérateurs de réseaux ne se justifient que dans certains cas bien précis et clairement désignés. En l'absence d'un cadre bien défini permettant de limiter de telles pratiques, les opérateurs de réseaux disposeront d'une marge de manœuvre suffisante pour exercer des discriminations à l'encontre de certains types de trafic sur Internet, en fonction de l'origine ou du commanditaire, faussant ainsi la concurrence et compromettant le caractère ouvert et neutre du Net.

La définition des cas dans lesquels le trafic Internet peut être géré doit donc être associée à des règles claires interdisant le blocage, le ralentissement, l'altération ou la dégradation des données en circulation et empêchant toute discrimination, ceci afin de garantir que les types de trafic équivalents sont traités sur un pied d'égalité.

Empêcher l'apparition de nouvelles formes de discrimination

Les opérateurs de réseaux offrant de plus en plus souvent leurs propres services de contenu, le risque existe qu'ils utilisent leur capacité à gérer le trafic Internet pour favoriser leurs propres offres au détriment de celles de leurs concurrents. Ils pourraient également faciliter l'accès à certains contenus et services aux partenaires avec lesquels ils ont des accords particuliers, ou de limiter l'accès aux services concurrents en ralentissant les flux des données. Ceci pourrait avoir pour conséquence que seuls les fournisseurs de contenu dotés de ressources suffisantes puissent négocier des accords préférentiels, faussant ainsi la concurrence, entravant l'innovation et réduisant le choix offert à l'utilisateur.

Permettre la coexistence entre l'accès à l'Internet et les services spécialisés

Les services d'accès à l'Internet ouvert sont fournis sur les mêmes réseaux haut débit que les services spécialisés (dits "d'infogérance"). Ces derniers offrent un niveau de qualité garanti pour des services pour lesquels une connexion plus lente ou dégradée serait inacceptable pour le client. Par exemple, la TV sur IP (transmission télévisuelle via le protocole Internet) peut être considérée comme un service spécialisé puisqu'elle ne fonctionnerait pas sur une connexion ordinaire.

Jusqu'ici, l'Internet ouvert et les services spécialisés ont coexisté de manière dynamique. Il n'en reste pas moins indispensable de disposer d'une réglementation claire selon laquelle la neutralité du Net reste la norme et les services spécialisés constituent l'exception. Faute de quoi, la capacité du réseau, qui a ses limites, serait dominée par les services spécialisés, compromettant du même coup l'accès de chacun à l'Internet ouvert.

05 DÉCEMBRE 2019

L'UER répond à la consultation publique concernant le projet de lignes directrices de l'ORECE sur l'accès à un internet ouvert

L'UER et ses Membres réaffirment leur soutien plein et entier à un Internet public ouvert, neutre et transparent. Ils se félicitent également que l'ORECE souligne, avec les amendements suggérés, que le...

25 AVRIL 2018

Réponse de l’UER à la consultation publique du BEREC sur l’évaluation de l’application du règlement (UE) 2015/2120 et des lignes directrices du BEREC sur la neutralité du Net [BOR (18) 33]

L’UER estime que le règlement de l’UE de 2015 ainsi que les lignes directrices de 2016 du BEREC continuent d’être des outils essentiels pour préserver le caractère ouvert d’Internet en tant que moteur clé de l’innovation.

05 JUILLET 2017

Réponse de l’UER à la consultation publique sur le projet de méthodologie d’évaluation réglementaire de l’ORECE (BOR (17) 112)

L’UER se félicite de la publication du projet de méthodologie d’évaluation réglementaire de l’ORECE. Il fournit aux autorités réglementaires nationales (ARN) en charge du contrôle et de l’application efficaces et efficients des dispositions relatives à l’Internet ouvert figurant dans le règlement sur le marché unique des télécommunications de l’UE des orientations solides dont elles ont grand besoin.

18 JUILLET 2016

Réponse de l’UER à la consultation publique sur le projet de lignes directrices de l’ORECE sur la mise en œuvre des règles de neutralité du net

L’UER considère que le rôle des autorités réglementaires nationales (ARN) – sous la direction cohérente de l’ORECE – est tout aussi crucial pour que le règlement fonctionne dans la pratique. Les ARN doivent être très proactives en ce qui concerne l’article 5 et les autres responsabilités, leur surveillance et le maintien du dialogue avec l’industrie.

16 MAI 2014

Google Spain CJEU Case - the right to be forgotten case?

On Tuesday 13 May 2014, the Court of Justice of the European Union (CJEU) released its long-awaited judgment in the Google Spain (C-131/12) case.

montrer tout

EBU POSITION ON THIS ISSUE

  • The open internet should remain the norm and specialized services the exception
  • Users must have access to transparent information about internet traffic management
  • Clear rules are needed to ensure that equivalent types of traffic are treated equally
  • Specific cases in which network operators can manage internet traffic should be clearly defined
  • Undue content blocking or discrimination must be prevented

Read more Download infosheet

What is at stake?

The internet is a key driver for innovation, democratic participation and free speech. Its open nature lies at the heart of its success, fuelling investment in creative and innovate services and directly boosting growth in broadband uptake.

The fundamental principle of the “open internet” or “net neutrality” rests upon rules at national, regional and supranational level, which prevent online traffic from being unduly blocked, slowed down, altered, degraded or discriminated against. A future where multiple internet speed lanes for different types services is the norm would fatally undermine this principle and create a clear digital divide between online ‘haves and have nots’.

As public service media, we want to ensure that our audiences enjoy unfettered, non-discriminatory and transparent access to online content of public interest. To guarantee this, we need a clear framework that ensure that all online data traffic is managed transparently and treated equally.

“Public service media organizations in Europe are committed to an open, transparent and innovative internet offering strong public and economic value. Key issues such as media pluralism on the internet and innovation in the digital economy are at stake. A set of robust rules needs to be implemented to safeguard net neutrality for all EU citizens.”

Wouter Gekiere
Deputy Head of European Affairs
 

Ensuring transparency for end-users

Transparency on the open internet is the first pre-condition to ensure users’ ability to access content online. The possibility for consumers to make informed choices hinges on the provision of clear and accessible information about how internet traffic is managed and the conditions and quality of connections.

Transparency also underpins competitive broadband access markets. However, measures strengthening transparency will only have a limited impact unless they are combined with a robust and clear policy regarding internet traffic management.

Limiting traffic management and avoiding discrimination

Traffic management practices by network operators are only justified in specific and clearly identified cases. Without a well-defined framework for limiting these practices, there will be leeway for network operators to discriminate internet traffic based on origin or ownership, distorting competition and compromising the open and neutral character of the internet.

Defining cases in which internet traffic can be reasonably managed must therefore be combined with a clear rule that prevents online traffic from being blocked, slowed down, altered, degraded or discriminated against and that ensures that equivalent types of traffic are treated equally.

Preventing new forms of traffic discrimination from arising

With network operators increasingly offering content services of their own, there is an inherent risk that they will use their capacity to manage internet traffic to favour their offers of content over those of competitors. They could also facilitate access to content and services from partners with whom they have developed special arrangements or alternatively restrict access to competing services by slowing down data flows. This could lead to a situation where only content providers with sufficient resources can negotiate ‘preferential’ deals, distorting competition, hampering innovation and reducing user choice.

Enabling co-existence between internet access and specialized services

Access to the open internet is currently provided over the same broadband networks as specialized (or “managed”) services. The latter offer a guaranteed level of quality for services where a slower or degraded connection would have a considerable impact on user experience. For example, IPTV (television transmission via Internet Protocol) can be justified as a specialized service as it would be unable to function under a regular connection.

So far, the open internet and specialized services have co-existed in a dynamic fashion. However, it is crucial to maintain clear rules establishing net neutrality as the norm and specialized services as the exception. Otherwise there is a danger that finite network capacity would be dominated by specialized services, impairing access to the open internet.

Position paper
25 Apr 2018
EBU response to BEREC public consultation on the evaluation of the application of regulation (EU) 2015/2120 and the BEREC net neutrality guidelines [BOR (18) 33]
The EBU believes that the 2015 EU Regulation as well as the 2016 BEREC Guidelines continue to be critical tools to safeguard the internet's open character as a key driver for innovation.
01 Dec 2017
Practical Insights to prepare for GDPR compliance
The GDPR sets out the EU’s legal framework for the lawful processing of personal data and is thus the bedrock of any data-driven service provided by public service media (PSM). Its implementation provides...
Position paper
05 Jul 2017
EBU response to the public consultation on the draft BEREC regulatory assessment methodology (BOR (17) 112)
The EBU welcomes the publication of the draft BEREC regulatory assessment methodology. It provides much needed solid guidance for measurement tools for National Regulatory Authorities (NRAs) in charge of effectively and efficiently monitoring and enforcing open Internet provisions included in the EU Telecoms Single Market Regulation.
Position paper
18 Jul 2016
EBU response to the public consultation on draft BEREC guidelines on implementation of net neutrality rules
The EBU considers that the role of national regulatory authorities (NRAs) – under consistent guidance by BEREC – is as critical to getting the Regulation to work in practice. NRAs must be highly proactive in relation to Article 5 and other responsibilities, their monitoring and in maintaining dialogue with industry.
Factsheet
01 Nov 2015
Net Neutrality
The Internet is a key driver for innovation, democratic participation and free speech. Its open nature lies at the heart of its success. It fuels investment in creative and innovate services, which directly boost growth in broadband uptake. Net neutrality policies are crucial for the open nature of the Internet and user confidence. The key issue at stake is the establishment of a clear framework ensuring that the Internet remains open and that all Internet data traffic is managed transparently and without discrimination
Position paper
15 Oct 2012
Open Internet
EBU reply (extracts) to the European Commission's public consultation on specific aspects of transparency, traffic management and switching in an Open Internet
show all