Les enjeux

Internet est un moyen d’accès aux contenus et aux informations qui revêt une importance primordiale. Parallèlement à leurs stations de radio et chaînes de télévision, les médias de service public (MSP) européens ont développé leurs propres espaces en ligne. Dignes de confiance, ces espaces permettent au public d’accéder à des contenus variés et de qualité.

Les utilisateurs en ligne sont de plus en plus nombreux à accéder aux contenus par l’intermédiaire de plateformes d’envergure mondiale, parmi lesquelles des réseaux sociaux, des plateformes de partage de vidéos, des moteurs de recherche et des assistants vocaux. En tant que MSP, nous entendons veiller à ce que le public puisse trouver des contenus d’intérêt général en ligne et y accéder. Or, les plateformes appartenant à des tiers font désormais office de contrôleurs d’accès. Nous avons donc besoin de mesures adaptées pour instaurer un environnement plus équitable et veiller à ce que les pratiques des plateformes soient transparentes, justes et responsables (notamment en ce qui concerne des droits de l’Homme comme la liberté d’expression et la liberté de la presse).

avmsd-2.png

GARANTIR UN ENVIRONNEMENT EN LIGNE TRANSPARENT ET ÉQUITABLE 

Compte tenu de la force de frappe dont elles disposent, les grandes plateformes en ligne pourraient s’adonner à des pratiques dangereuses, répondant uniquement à leurs intérêts commerciaux. Le règlement européen « plateformes-entreprises » de 2019 (Platform-to-Business, P2B) constitue une première étape vers une plus grande équité dans les pratiques commerciales des plateformes. Il fixe de nouvelles règles pour renforcer la transparence des conditions générales et des classements/algorithmes. Toutefois, nous en appelons à la Commission européenne et à l’Observatoire sur l’économie des plateformes en ligne pour qu’ils suivent étroitement la situation et collectent des preuves. L’UE doit en effet se tenir prête à prendre d’autres mesures, qui pourraient s’avérer nécessaires au vu des mutations rapides du marché et de l’impact sur la concurrence et l’innovation numériques en Europe.

Apporter de la transparence dans l’utilisation des données des plateformes et assurer l’accès aux données  

En identifiant les contenus ou les services qui sont utilisés et en cernant bien la manière dont ils sont utilisés, les fournisseurs de contenus (notamment les MSP) sont mieux à même de comprendre les besoins et les attentes des différentes franges du public. De la même manière, comprendre la valeur qu’accordent les citoyens aux services ou aux contenus proposés par l’intermédiaire des plateformes en ligne, ainsi que la façon dont ils y répondent, permet aux fournisseurs de contenus de mieux adapter leur offre et d’affronter plus efficacement la concurrence des services proposés en ligne par des plateformes appartenant à des tiers. En complément d’une bonne application des règles de transparence définies par le règlement P2B de l’UE, nous avons besoin de garanties pour permettre aux utilisateurs d’accéder aux données relatives aux services ou contenus mis à leur disposition sur les plateformes en ligne. Ces garanties doivent de surcroît assurer la protection des données à caractère personnel et respecter et les règles de protection de la vie privée.

Les contenus d’intérêt général doivent être aisément accessibles et faciles à trouver

Les médias de service public jouent un rôle central pour la démocratie dans la mesure où ils informent les populations, contribuent à forger l’opinion publique et offrent une fenêtre sur le monde. Au sein de l’environnement en ligne, les plateformes sont enclines à organiser et à présenter les contenus comme elles le souhaitent. Or, il existe un risque de voir les exploitants de ces plateformes diriger leurs utilisateurs vers des contenus qui répondent à leurs intérêts commerciaux, au détriment de programmes présentant un intérêt général. La visibilité (aussi désignée par le terme de « trouvabilité ») est un principe crucial si l’on veut faire en sorte que la population soit suffisamment informée des contenus de service public et des autres contenus revêtant un intérêt particulier pour la société.

Pour promouvoir l’équité et entretenir la confiance que la population accorde aux contenus en ligne, le service ou la source du contenu, et notamment sa marque, doivent être clairement visibles et reconnaissables sur la plateforme. Le risque d’une mauvaise attribution de la marque, voire d’une absence totale d’attribution, devient d’ailleurs plus pressant à mesure qu’augmente l’usage des assistants vocaux.

Protéger la liberté d’expression et respecter l’intégrité éditoriale des médias

La radio et la télévision continuent d’être les médias jugés les plus dignes de confiance en Europe. Le public doit pouvoir compter sur l’intégrité et l’authenticité des programmes et services des fournisseurs de services de médias, y compris lorsqu’ils sont distribués par le biais de plateformes appartenant à des tiers.

Cette protection est d’autant plus nécessaire qu’elle peut servir de contrepoids à la propagation de la désinformation. Elle permettra de surcroît aux fournisseurs européens de services de médias de continuer de jouer un rôle important dans le renforcement de la démocratie et la formation de l’opinion publique.

Veiller à ce que les plateformes assument pleinement leurs responsabilités

Des millions de citoyens, et notamment les plus jeunes, se tournent vers les contenus des plateformes en ligne. Ces plateformes, qu’il s’agisse de moteurs de recherche, de réseaux sociaux ou d’agrégateurs de contenus, exercent de toute évidence une influence notable sur l’opinion publique en classant et en sélectionnant nouvelles et informations. Bien souvent, le rôle des plateformes en ligne ne se limite pas à héberger des contenus ou des services, et ne saurait donc être qualifié de purement passif.

À la différence de la presse écrite et de l’audiovisuel, il revient aux intermédiaires de définir leur rôle de « passeurs d’information », selon les règles « communautaires » qu’ils ont eux-mêmes définies. En pleine lutte contre l’essor de la désinformation et des fake news, il est plus important que jamais que les plateformes assument pleinement leurs responsabilités.

15 sept. 2020
EBU response to the European Commission consultation on the European Democracy Action Plan
EBU response to the European Commission consultation on the European Democracy Action Plan
08 sept. 2020
EBU response to the European Commission’s public consultation on the New Competition Tool
EBU response to the European Commission’s public consultation on the New Competition Tool
08 sept. 2020
The EU Digital Services Act: Recommendations from Public Service Media
A snapshot view of the EBU's recommendations to the European Commission for the Digital Services Act package. 
08 sept. 2020
EBU response to the European Commission public consultation on the Digital Services Act
The EBU's responses to the European Commission's questions in the public consultation on the Digital Services Act
08 sept. 2020
The proposed New Competition Tool: Why do we need it and how should it work?
This document provides a snapshot of the EBU's response to the European Commission consultation on the New Competition Tool.  The full consultation response is here.
29 mai 2020
Réponses de l’UER au questionnaire de la consultation de la Commission européenne sur une stratégie européenne pour les données – Addendum
Dans ce document, l’UER répond en détail aux questions posées par la Commission européenne dans sa consultation, Une stratégie européenne pour les données. Partie 1 de la réponse de l’UER ici. Document...
montrer tout

EBU position on this issue

  • Ensure a transparent and fair online playing field
  • Shed transparency on platforms’ data usage and ensure access to data  
  • Public value content needs to be easy to access and easy to find
  • Protect freedom of expression and respect editorial integrity of the media
  • Ensure that platforms are held properly accountable

Read more

What is at stake?

The Internet is a key space for accessing content and information. Alongside their radio and TV channels, public service media (PSM) in Europe have developed their own trusted online spaces enabling audiences to access high-quality and diverse content.

Online users increasingly access content through global platforms including social media, video sharing platforms, search engines and voice assistants. As PSM, we want to ensure that audiences can access and find content of public value online. Third-party platforms have become important gatekeepers controlling the ability of content providers such as PSM to reach audiences. We need appropriate measures to create a more level playing field and ensure that platforms’ practices are transparent, fair and accountable (not least to human rights such as freedom of expression and the media).

avmsd-2.png

“We want to ensure that viewers are always aware that a rich offer of public interest programming is available, and just a click or push of a button away.”

 

Ensure a transparent and fair online playing field 

Given their market power, major online platforms could engage in harmful practices which only serve their business interests. The 2019 EU Regulation on platform-to-business (P2B) practices is a first step in the direction of more fairness in platforms’ trading practices. It sets new provisions to boost transparency on terms and conditions and ranking/algorithms. But we call on the European Commission and the Observatory on the Online Platform Economy to monitor the situation closely and gather evidence. The EU need to be ready to take further action as required considering the fast-moving nature of the market and the impact on digital competition and innovation in Europe.

Shed transparency on platforms’ data usage and ensure access to data   

Understanding what content or service was consumed and how it was consumed allows content providers such as public service media to gain a better understanding of audiences’ needs and expectations. Similarly, understanding how citizens value and respond to their services or content offered through online platforms allows content providers more generally to better tailor their offers and to better and more fairly compete with services offered by online third-party platforms themselves. In addition to proper enforcement of the EU P2B Regulation’s transparency rules, we need safeguards in place to grant users access to data generated by or related to services or content these users offer on online platforms, always respecting personal data protection and privacy rules.

Public value content needs to be easy to access and easy to find

Public service media play a central role for democracy by providing a means to inform citizens, shape public opinion and offer a window to the world. In an online environment, platforms tend to organise and present content at their own discretion. There is a risk that platform operators will focus on driving viewers towards content that suits their commercial interests to the detriment of programmes with a public interest angle. Prominence – or findability as it is often called – is a crucial principle to ensure citizens are sufficiently aware of public service content and other content of particular value to society.

To promote fairness and uphold citizens’ trust in content online, the service or content’s source including its branding needs to be clearly visible or recognized on the platform. The risk of poor or no attribution of brands is becoming increasingly relevant and pressing with the increasing use of voice assistants.

Protect freedom of expression and respect editorial integrity of the media

Radio and television continue to be the most trusted media in Europe. Audiences must be able to rely on the integrity and authenticity of media service providers’ programmes and services, including when they are distributed over third-party online platforms.

Such protection is all the more necessary as a counterweight to the spread of disinformation and it will allow media service providers in Europe to continue playing an important democracy-enhancing role in public opinion formation.

Ensure that platforms are held properly accountable

Millions of citizens, not in the least young audiences, turn to an online platform for content. These platforms, whether they are search, social media and news aggregators, are undeniably impacting public opinion today by sorting and selecting news and information. In many cases, the online platforms’ role is not limited to simply hosting content or services and thus cannot be qualified as a purely passive one.

Unlike print and broadcast media, it is left to the intermediaries themselves and so-called community standards set by them to determine how they exercise their role as information intermediaries. Amid the battle with the continued spread of misinformation and fake news, holding platforms to account has never been more important than it is now.

28 Apr 2020
EBU Position on reforming Competition Law to promote Fairness in Digital Media Markets
This position paper is about the ongoing process of reform of competition law. At a time when online platforms act as bottlenecks for how consumers can access products and services including PSM content,...
03 Feb 2020
EBU response to European Commission Consultation on Ranking Transparency
The EBU’s response to the European Commission’s public consultation on how online platforms and search engines should set out in their terms and conditions the main parameters determining ranking and the...
Report
30 Oct 2019
Music Streaming Platforms & PSM
Explore how EBU Members perceive the role of music streaming platforms and the strategies they have put in place, as well as their footprint in these platforms, notably Spotify.
18 Feb 2019
Joint statement on Platform to Business Regulation
European businesses welcome agreement on Platform-to-Business Regulation, call for follow up action on platforms' unfair practices.
18 Jan 2019
Joint Letter on Platform to Business Regulation
EBU co-signs a joint letter from European Innovators, Creative Industries and SMEs to EU Economy Ministers.
Factsheet
16 Oct 2018
Platform to Business Regulation
The EBU supports the 2018 Commission proposal for a Regulation on platform-to-business practices as a step in the right direction but urges policy-makers to introduce key improvements to ensure the effectiveness of the Regulation.
show all